Where did November go?

30 Nov

Today is the last day of November and the last day of Vegan MOFO (Month of Food).

I’ve had a great time cooking and blogging vegan recipes for Thanksgiving. Not only did I discover some delicious recipes online, I also created some new favorites. For this, I am thankful.

Thanksgiving Buffet at my in-laws: Mashed Potatoes, Gravy, Stuffing, Vegan Butternut Squash & Apple Casserole, Vegan Harvest Stuffing, Vegan Green Bean Casserole, Dinner Rolls, Cranberry Sauce, and Turkey for the omnivores (a locally-raised, grass-fed, lived-in-the-sunshine turkey!)

Sadly, this last day of November means I have just over one month left of my one-year plan to get my blood pressure under control without drugs. I’m not quite there yet. My goal was to get under 140/90 so I would not be classified as hypertensive. Although I have had readings below 140/90, I’m generally right around 150/100.

Now I have to figure out what to do next.

I feel that I have tried just about everything under the sun to lower my blood pressure. I guess I’m either missing something or I just haven’t found the right combination of diet, exercise, and vitamins.

Everything I have tried in the last 11 months has been suggested by my chiropractor or has come from my own personal reading and research. I have not seen my primary care physician since last November when he prescribed the drug that eventually landed me in the emergency room. I have avoided seeing him because as soon as they check my blood pressure, he will try to force another prescription drug on me. He will not advise me regarding diet or exercise. He will not listen to my beliefs on prescription drugs. He will not offer any non-drug suggestions.

Therefore, my focus for December will be where to go from here. I am searching for a new primary care physician — one that will listen and be willing to work with me on the best possible solution, not the quick and easy way (drugs). And, I will be re-analyzing my diet. Again.

Don’t worry, though. There will be plenty of recipes this month. ‘Tis the season for holiday baking! So stay tuned…

One Response to “Where did November go?”

  1. theradgal December 1, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Your vegan feast looks delicious! I hope that your blood pressure situation gets sorted out. It stinks when you modify your lifestyle and still don’t make headway.

Leave a Reply

