Thyme…one of my favorite things.

19 Nov

Of course, I’m talking about the herb. But time is one of my favorite things, too. Especially when I have time that isn’t scheduled! It’s rare around here, but when I do have a little extra time, I generally fill it with some chore that I’ve been putting off rather than relaxing. This week, all spare time was devoted to purging half of the junk in my kids’ toy closet. It was full of a lot of things they’ve outgrown, games with missing parts, and bits of paper and broken crayons. Plus, I’m claiming half of the freshly-cleaned closet for organizing/storing my scrapbooking stuff! (Someday I’m going to find time to scrapbook again…sigh…)

Now about that thyme…

Today’s recipe is a beautiful rice pilaf — a nice substitute for your typical Thanksgiving stuffing. The wild rice gives it a kind of nutty flavor without nuts. Seasoned with orange zest and thyme, this is a great vegan and gluten-free side dish. In addition, it’s something you can make on the stovetop, leaving your oven free for all those dishes that have to be baked.

Orange-Scented Wild Rice Pilaf
serves 6

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, diced
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
2 cups vegetable broth (I like Imagine Organic No Chicken Broth)
3/4 cup brown rice
3/4 cup wild rice
1 teaspoon dried thyme
2 teaspoons fresh orange zest
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
salt and pepper to taste

In a medium saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and sea salt. Saute until onions are tender, about 5 minutes. Add broth, rice and thyme. Bring to a boil then cover and reduce heat. Simmer until rice is tender, about 45 minutes. Stir in orange zest and parsley. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Thyme…one of my favorite things.”

  1. Jojo November 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    That pilaff looks delicious.

  2. Elisabeth November 22, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Wow! That sounds and looks great!

Leave a Reply

