Me? A butcher?

15 Nov

Yep — a vegan butcher. That’s what I felt like yesterday as I attempted to peel and chop a whole butternut squash. Good grief, those little buggers are hard to cut! I whacked at it for a while until my knife got stuck in it and then my awesome hubby came to the rescue! He took over with a much sharper knife (and a lot more muscle) and diced it into cubes for my recipe.

Thank goodness, because this is a not-to-be-missed recipe that is super easy once you get the butternut squash peeled and diced. Or, look for cubed butternut squash in your store’s freezer section and save yourself the butchering job. I’ve bought it before in the “natural foods” section at my local Kroger.

This recipe is an adaptation of a recipe I found on Prevention’s website a few years ago. I’ve never made it before, but it’s been in my big binder of recipes to try. I looked over the recipe and decided to veganize it and kick it up a notch by adding Granny Smith apples and more spices. I completely assembled this dish and took it to my in-laws all ready to bake. It came out of the oven warm, delicious, and very satisfying. It is a great holiday side dish.

Butternut Squash & Apple Casserole
serves 8

2 tablespoons vegan butter (Earth Balance)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, diced
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar, divided
1 tablespoon cumin
1/2 tablespoon dried thyme
3-pound butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed
2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and cubed
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a small pan, melt the butter and olive oil together. Add the onions and saute over medium heat until soft, about 10 minutes. Allow to cool while you cube the squash and apples.

In a large bowl, toss together the onion mixture, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, cumin, thyme, squash and apples. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Pour into a 3-quart baking dish and spread evenly. Sprinkle the top with the remaining tablespoon of brown sugar.

Cover and bake for 30 minutes. Remove cover and continue to bake until squash and apples are tender, about 15 minutes. Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Me? A butcher?”

  1. Bobbi Silwester November 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Tamie,
    I used to have the same problem cutting squash as well until I saw somewhere (a cooking show maybe?) If you start a large chef’s knife in a way that will allow you access to both ends of the knife, you can hold the handle with one hand and tap the blade end through with a hammer. I actually used a rubber mallet. It was WAY easier than trying to do it the normal way!

    Bobbi

    • tamiespears November 15, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Ooh! Thanks, Bobbi! I’ll remember that because I have another whole squash sitting here to cook. I usually roast them whole and then scoop out the cooked inside, but I wanted cubes for this recipe. It was a workout!

  2. Sarah P November 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    I’ve stopped ever peeling butternut squash because it’s such a hassle. The peels are thin and edible, and I’m lazy 🙂

  3. Beth G. November 16, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    This looks scrumptious! I love sqash and pumpkin, so will try this one for Thanksgiving. I have a great recipe for Ethiopian pumpkin stew if you’re interested!

Leave a Reply

