And the winner is…

5 Nov

I’ve been contemplating the gluten free thing for the last couple weeks, and I just don’t know if I can be vegan and gluten free. I love the vegan lifestyle, but give up whole wheat?! Oooh, I don’t know about that. I’m part Italian — I need my bread and pasta!

So I decided to do a little experiment. I went to www.allrecipes.com and looked up recipes for corn bread. I selected the one with the highest ratings and I made them. Only here’s the thing — I made half the muffins as listed in the recipe, and the other half with all the substitutions to make them vegan and gluten free — Ener-G egg substitute for the egg, almond milk for the regular milk, and gluten-free flour for the whole wheat flour. The original recipe ones went into Halloween cupcake liners and the vegan/gluten-free ones went into plain cupcake liners. They baked in the oven in the same muffin pan and for the exact same amount of time. I even rotated the pan halfway through to ensure even baking of all muffins.

And the winner is…
the vegan/gluten-free muffins!

I had my kids and mother-in-law do the taste testing since the original recipe muffins contained dairy. They thought both kinds were really good, but said the vegan/gluten-free ones were slightly more moist. I was actually surprised that they baked up the same height. I didn’t expect that. The only real difference was that the vegan/gluten-free muffins did not crack on the top or brown as much as the regular ones. Otherwise, they tasted exactly the same.

My conclusion? I can at least have tasty corn bread! I’m going to make them again to use in an upcoming Thanksgiving stuffing recipe. In the meantime, I’ll keep experimenting with all the substitutions and see what else I can come up with.

The original recipe is here. My version is below.

Original recipe on the left; vegan/gluten-free recipe on the right

Original recipe on the left; vegan/gluten-free recipe on the right

Vegan & Gluten-Free Corn Muffins
makes 12 muffins

1 cup gluten-free all-purpose flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3-1/2 teaspoons baking powder
Ener-G egg substitute for 1 egg, mixed per package directions
1 cup plain almond milk
1/3 cup canola oil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners.

In a large bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir in egg substitute, almond milk and oil until well combined. Divide evenly between the cupcake liners.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the tops are lightly browned and a toothpick inserted into the center of one muffin comes out clean. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

