Bon Appetit magazine: I like where you’re heading.

3 Nov

I’ve been a Bon Appetit magazine subscribe for a long time. Years, actually. And I’ve made many, many recipes from the magazine and the Epicurious website. I love the unique ingredients, the unusual flavor combinations, and the overall “gourmet-ness” of the recipes.

But when I went vegan in January, it seemed like none of the recipes would work for me anymore. Too much meat, cheese, cream and eggs. I decided to take a break from my subscription for a while and started receiving Vegetarian Times instead. Last month, my kids had a magazine sale at school. To help support the school, my mom ordered a bunch of magazines including Bon Appetit for me again. I’m so glad she did.

For one thing, my first issue arrived yesterday and it’s their annual big, bad Thanksgiving issue. For another thing, there are recipes actually geared to those on special diets! There are 25 recipes marked as “vegetarian,” twelve that are vegan, and one that is specifically made with gluten-free flour. Since I’ve been toying with the idea of trying a gluten-free diet, I saw that recipe and knew I had to give it try.

And so begins the first of my Thanksgiving recipe testing…with Gluten-Free Sweet Potato Biscuits from the November 2010 issue of Bon Appetit.

The recipe is not vegan, but was easily converted. I substituted Earth Balance vegan butter for the regular butter and made my own vegan buttermilk by stirring 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar into a 1/2 cup of almond milk. I used the brand of gluten-free flour recommended by the magazine.

The flavor of the finished biscuit was really good. Just a little hint of sweet potato, a nice nuttiness from the toasted pecans, and mild sweetness from the maple syrup. And I liked how the top cracked little. If you smear on some (vegan) butter while they’re still warm, it melts into the cracks and crevices. Mmm…

My only complaint with them is that they didn’t bake up big and fluffy. They are moist on the inside and firm on the outside, but not tall and light like a traditional biscuit. The next time I make them, I think I will not roll them quite as thin and bake them at a slightly lower temperature, so they end up a little thicker when done. Otherwise, quite delicious. My kids loved them!

The original recipe is here. My veganized version is below.

Gluten-Free Sweet Potato Biscuits
makes 16

1 large red-skinned sweet potato (about 1-1/4 pounds), pierced with fork
1/2 cup plain almond, coconut or soy milk
1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1-1/3 cups gluten-free flour plus additional
2/3 cup yellow cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chilled vegan butter, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (Earth Balance)
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted

Preheat oven to 425°F. Line baking sheet with parchment.

Microwave potato until tender, about 6 minutes per side. Halve; scoop out 1 cup flesh. Cool.

In a small bowl, stir the apple cider vinegar into the almond milk and set aside.

Blend 1-1/3 cups flour and next 3 ingredients in processor. Add butter; pulse to coarse meal. Add potato, almond milk mixture, and syrup. Process to blend. Add nuts and pulse to blend.

Sprinkle work surface with flour. Remove the dough from the food processor with floured hands. Pat into 9-inch square. Cut into 16 biscuits. Transfer to baking sheet. Bake until lightly browned, about 18 to 22 minutes. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Bon Appetit magazine: I like where you’re heading.”

  1. organarchy November 5, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Mmmmm! Sweet Potato Biscuits!!! Thanks for posting the recipe and Happy MoFo’ing!

  2. Franklin April 26, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    I got this web page from my buddy who told me regarding this website and at the moment this time I am visiting this site
    and reading very informative articles or reviews at this place.

Leave a Reply

