A Fun Day Today

29 Oct

But, a busy one. I spent my morning trying to catch up on work because I will spend my afternoon at my kids’ school for their Halloween parties. I’m so looking forward to the weekend so I can get all the things done that fell by the wayside during this week of craziness.

Despite a jam-packed day, I did take the time to make myself a nice lunch. I opened the fridge in hopes of finding some leftovers I could just warm up. No luck. The only leftover in there was cooked spaghetti squash, which I already had yesterday and the day before with my mom’s homemade marinara sauce. I dug around the fridge a little more to see if I could come up with something to do with the spaghetti squash. Hmm…baby portobellos, already sliced. Looks like my answer.

I started with a little olive oil, diced an onion and some garlic, and started sauteeing them with the mushrooms. A little of this and a little of that from the spice rack and pantry, and I came up with a really tasty mushroom mixture to top the reheated squash with. The mushrooms made it meaty, and the rosemary and garlic gave it a very gourmet flavor. Delicious and done in about 15 minutes.

Honestly, I will make this again and again. It was perfect on top of the spaghetti squash, but it’s also a great way to dress up penne pasta, creamy polenta or a big baked potato.

Sauteed Mushrooms with Rosemary and Garlic
serves 4 if used as main dish

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
16 ounces baby portobello mushrooms, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
salt and pepper
1 cup Marsala (cooking wine)
2 tablespoons vegan butter (Earth Balance)
2 teaspoons all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley

Heat oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Add onions and cook 2 minutes. Add mushrooms and garlic and saute 5 minutes. Add rosemary and a sprinkle of salt and pepper. Continue cooking and stirring until mushrooms are tender and golden brown. Stir in Marsala wine. Cover and simmer 5 minutes. Stir in the butter until it melts. Sprinkle the flour over the mixture and stir until well blended. Cover and simmer another 2 to 3 minutes so sauce thickens slightly. Taste and add salt or pepper if needed. Remove from heat and stir in chopped Italian parsley. Serve over cooked spaghetti squash, pasta, polenta or baked potatoes. If you aren’t vegan, try sprinkling on some grated Parmesan cheese. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

