It’s school Halloween party time!

28 Oct

And I am running around like a mad woman today trying to get everything done! Ahh, the things we do for our kids…

For kindergarten through third grade, our elementary school does traditional children’s Halloween parties — games, candy, and a parade through the school in their costumes. For fourth, fifth and sixth grade, they have a specific theme that has a “lesson” to it.

Logan’s first grade class is having a traditional party. As the “resident” graphic designer, I was asked to make a poster size witch head so they can play Pin The Wart on the Witch with green circle stickers. I have it illustrated in pencil. Still need to color it in with black marker. They also have a Toss Across game (like tic-tac-toe) and asked me to create Halloween panels to put over the X’s and O’s to make it appropriate for the party. Those are done. Logan’s homemade mummy costume is almost done — I ran out of gauze that I’m hot-gluing onto long johns. I’ll have to finish that tonight.

I usually volunteer to bring a food item to parties. In past years, I’ve made this veggie skeleton that’s always a hit. The head is a small cabbage with the center scooped out and filled with veggie dip. You can make it homemade with sour cream (or silken tofu for a vegan version) mixed with garlic, herbs, fresh parsley, black pepper and salt. I take extra cut-up veggies in a big bag and fill in as the kids take them, so the skeleton always stays somewhat intact until the end.

In fourth grade, they spend a good part of October studying native Americans – their culture, food, clothing, etc. They end this segment with a Harvest Party instead of a Halloween party. They dress in native American costumes (I finished making that this morning). They will cook a traditional native American soup themselves (peeling potatoes, cutting corn off the cob, etc.) and have a whole buffet of food that the kids signed up to bring in. My sweet, thoughtful Brady, knowing that his mom likes to cook, signed up to bring in a pumpkin pie. Do I have it baked? Nope. Am I purchasing it from the Kroger deli? Yup. I know…it goes against all I believe in teaching my kids about food, but I just don’t have the time. Instead, I’ll be spending that time making a werewolf costume for him to wear trick-or-treating on Sunday.

And now, my sixth grader — Madison. They’ve been studying “grossology” — as in all things gross. I won’t go into great detail, but let’s just say it involves a lot of bodily functions and fluids. Ick. Instead of a Halloween party, they have Grossology Day tomorrow where they will dress as mad scientists and conduct all kinds of experiments, I guess. They also have a buffet of “gross” foods. How about some kitty litter cake, appropriately decorated with tootsie rolls? Or a pumpkin carved so that salsa is vomiting from his mouth? Gone are the days of the cute veggie skeleton or bat-shaped cookies! Madison decided she wanted to make Snot On A Stick. I tinted melted white chocolate with green and yellow food coloring until it was snot colored. I dipped 4″ pretzel twists in it and set them on wax paper to harden. Then I drizzled them with more “snot” dangling from a spoon so they would look extra boogery. 🙂 Hey, at least she didn’t pick the cake we saw online of a bunch of rats eating a sawed-off arm!

If you are spending tomorrow at your kids’ school parties, enjoy every minute of it and take lots of pictures. Before you know it, they’ll be heading to junior high where they don’t have parties or wear cute costumes anymore.

2 Responses to “It’s school Halloween party time!”

  1. Jane October 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    That dip skeleton is such a cool idea. Love it. Can I copy the photo to keep so I can make it sometime?

    • tamiespears October 29, 2010 at 2:06 am #

      Absolutely! I usually use a green cabbage, but they didn’t have any the right size when I made this guy, so I had to get a purple cabbage.

Leave a Reply

