Pumpkin Cheesecake for Breakfast?

27 Oct

Okay, super quick blog this morning because I am rapidly running out of time to do everything I have to do this week!

After the delicious pumpkin pancakes we had Saturday morning, I still had half a can of pumpkin puree left that went into the fridge. I didn’t want it to go to waste, but there is no time for baking this week. So I decided to whip up a little pumpkin spiced spread for bagels. My kids’ absolute favorite thing about eating at Panera is the flavored cream cheeses, so I knew this would be a hit. It turned out so tasty my kids are fighting over who gets the last tablespoon of it. After I made it, I asked Madison to scoop it into a Tupperware container for me…only to find her a few minutes later eating it by the spoonful!

I made my version vegan, using a vegan cream cheese, but you can use regular cream cheese or Neufchatel cheese and it will work fine. I made half the batch with chocolate chips and the other half with raisins. I preferred the raisins, but the kids liked the chocolate chips better (of course!). It would also be really good with toasted pecans, but I was out of them.

Vegan Pumpkin Cream Cheese
makes about 1-1/2 cups

8 ounces vegan cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 cup chocolate chips, raisins or toasted pecans (chopped)

Put all ingredients — except the chocolate chips/raisins/pecans — in a food processor. Process until well blended. Scoop into a storage container and add the chocolate chips, raisins or toasted pecans. Stir well. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Spread on bagels, toast, crackers or even sliced apples. Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Cheesecake for Breakfast?”

  1. Brianna November 13, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Made this with regular cream cheese (vegetarian, instead of vegan) & it was excellent. In fact, I’ve had it on a bagel for breakfast almost every day this week..it’s that good!

    • tamiespears November 13, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      I make it that way for my kids, who are not vegan, because the vegan cream cheese is expensive. I make it vegan just for me. So glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

