‘Tis the season for…pumpkin!

23 Oct

Yesterday after school, I took the kids to the pumpkin farm to pick out some pumpkins. Jason’s aunt had dropped off a big pumpkin for each of them to carve, but my parents are in town this weekend and the kids wanted to have a family pumpkin carving day. So yesterday we picked out four more pumpkins. We’ve been going to the same pumpkin farm since Madison was two, so they had fun revisiting all the favorite spots there and sipping on an apple cider slushy (yum!).

I also picked up some pie pumpkins while I was there. My friend, Patti, mentioned that she loves pumpkin this time of year and was looking for some pumpkin recipes. I’ve never cooked with a fresh pumpkin before. I generally buy the canned pumpkin because the only ingredient in the can is “pumpkin.” No added junk. Plus, it’s convenient. But I bought several pie pumpkins yesterday, which I will experiment with in the next week or so and post some recipes.

In the meantime, I came across this recipe for pumpkin pancakes that sounded really good. Since I had a can of pumpkin in my pantry and my parents are visiting, we decided to whip up a batch of these for breakfast today – vegan style. Oh, my goodness, were they delicious! Topped with toasted pecans and warm maple syrup, they are the perfect fall breakfast.

Spiced Pumpkin Pancakes
serves 6

1-3/4 cups almond milk
1 cup pumpkin puree
Equivalent of 1 egg using Ener-G egg substitute (or 1 egg if you’re not vegan)
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 cups white whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1-1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon salt
maple syrup, warmed
toasted pecans, if desired

In a large bowl, mix together the milk, pumpkin, egg substitute, oil, vinegar and vanilla extract. Whisk in brown sugar. In a separate bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients. Stir the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture just enough to combine. Thin with a tablespoon or two of almond milk, if necessary.

Heat a lightly-oiled griddle or skillet over medium-high heat. Using a 1/4-cup measuring cup, scoop batter onto the griddle. When the edges of the pancakes are light brown and the top appears dry, flip and continue cooking until lightly browned. Serve with warm maple syrup and a sprinkle of toasted pecans. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Carvings 2010
Top row, L to R: Jason’s Devilish Grin, Madison’s I’m About To Lose My Mind!, Brady’s Frankenstein, my Mom’s Got Spooked)
Bottom row, L to R: Logan’s Mummy, my Dad’s In Stitches, my attempt to carve my parents dog, Max

Leave a Reply

