“Finally!”

21 Oct

That’s what Madison said at dinner last night. “Finally!”

Do you have something you put off doing for a long time because you think it will be too hard? And then when you finally do it, it wasn’t as bad as you thought it would be? Well, that’s what happened to me.

One of Madison’s all-time favorite soups is cheesy broccoli. I have a standard recipe I used to make all the time and everyone loved it, made with milk and tons of cheese. And then I went vegan. So all last winter, she begged me for it — and I avoided making it because I knew I would want to eat it. Plus, I couldn’t imagine trying to veganize it. It seemed impossible. So I put it off.

Yesterday, I finally did it. And I warned her that it wasn’t going to taste exactly the same because the ingredients were so different now.

It was a success! It came out creamy and cheesy, though not quite as cheesy as the old recipe. But she ate a huge bowl of it and requested that I make it again. Even the boys went gaga over it.

Yay!

Vegan Cheesy Broccoli Soup
makes 6 servings

3 tablespoons vegan butter (Earth Balance)
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
16 ounce package of frozen chopped broccoli
4 cups vegetable broth
1 teaspoon salt
6 ounces vegan American cheese, shredded or sliced
1 cup plain almond milk or soymilk
5 tablespoons nutritional yeast flakes
1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
1/2 tablespoon dijon mustard
1/3 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup water
1/2 teaspoon pepper
salt to taste

In a large stockpot, melt the butter. Stir in onions and garlic and saute for 3 to 4 minutes. Add broccoli, broth and salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until broccoli is tender, about 10 minutes. Add cheese and stir until melted and well blended. In a small bowl, whisk together almond milk, nutritional yeast, garlic powder and dijon mustard. Slowly add to the simmering soup, stirring constantly. In the same small bowl, whisk the cornstarch into the water until dissolved. Slowly add to the soup, stirring constantly. Continue simmering and stirring occasionally until the soup has thickened. Stir in the pepper and season with salt, if needed. Garnish with a little more shredded vegan cheese and enjoy!

4 Responses to ““Finally!””

  1. Erin October 21, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Also one of my favorite soups! Sounds amazing!

  2. Ashley October 21, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    This looks amazing!

  3. diana October 25, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    I can not wait to try this recipe. It’s my all-time favorite soup!!!

    • tamiespears October 25, 2010 at 12:38 am #

      Hope you love it as much as we did! It was even better the next day – thicker and the flavors had developed even more. Delish!

Leave a Reply

