It’s National Chocolate Cupcake Day!

18 Oct

Did you know this day even existed? At the beginning of October, I did a little research on the background of Vegetarian Awareness Month. In the process, I came across a list of other “special” days throughout October. Actually, just about every day in October is National “Something” Day!

So in honor of National Chocolate Cupcake Day, I decided to bake again. As I’ve said before, I don’t usually do a whole lot of baking. But this is an occasion I can’t pass up because I own the most awesome cookbook for vegan cupcakes. Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World, by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, features recipes for 75 kinds of cupcakes and not one of them contains dairy or eggs. I was skeptical when I first read this book. I honestly didn’t think cupcakes without eggs would bake up light and fluffy. But they do. And, my kids have gobbled up every cupcake that has come out of my oven!

I’ve already blogged about the fantastic Cookies & Cream Cupcakes and several others from the book. Just imagine biting into a moist, delicious Rum Raisin Cupcake, Chai Latte Cupcake, S’mores Cupcake or Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcake. Is your mouth watering yet? And how appropriate are the Apple Cider Cupcakes right now?! Yum.

Today I baked Chocolate Banana Cupcakes with Chocolate Peanut Butter frosting from Isa’s website, Post Punk Kitchen. (I didn’t want to infringe on anyone’s copyright by reprinting one from the book.) The cupcakes came out light and fluffy with a hint of banana and were very quick to put together. You can get the recipe by clicking here. The frosting is a basic vegan chocolate frosting from her website with a couple tablespoons of creamy peanut butter stirred in. (Recipe here.) Amazing. Give them a try!

By the way, October 23 is National Boston Cream Pie Day. Might be a good day to whip up a batch of Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World!

Leave a comment