Fall is in the air…and that means soup is on my stove.

6 Oct

My hubby and kids like soup. I love soup. I could eat it every day. Just about any kind of soup, too. Honestly, I wish someone would fill my freezer with tubs of homemade soup so I could just pull it out and reheat it whenever I felt like it! Usually when I make soup, I make a big batch so I can freeze some. But it never lasts because I eat it for lunch before it’s even in the freezer for a day or two!

Last night I made a new soup recipe I got off of Alicia Silverstone’s website, The Kind Life. Alicia Silverstone, if you don’t already know, is an actress and huge advocate for animals and the vegan lifestyle. She has been vegan for her entire adult life and recently wrote a book called “The Kind Diet,” which explains why a plant-based diet is the kind way to eat — for humans, animals and the planet. Though many of her recipes have hard-to-find ingredients (or really weird things that I wouldn’t buy), it’s packed with information to help you “flirt” with a vegetarian diet, go all out vegan, or even be a “superhero” which emphasizes eating only organic, locally-grown foods.

Alicia is my “friend” on Facebook and she regularly posts recipes and great articles and stories. Not too long ago she posted this recipe that she wanted to share. I finally got around to making it last night for dinner. I’m so glad I did. It’s loaded with vegetables and pureed with a “cream” that will leave you wondering how it’s possible that this soup doesn’t contain milk! It’s rich, flavorful and satisfying.

Don’t be put off by the name — Cauliflower Bisque. The taste of cauliflower does not stand out in this soup at all. The vegetables all work together to give you a delicious creamy soup, topped with toasty bits of bread crumbs. When I served it for dinner, I didn’t tell anyone what was in it. I made them all guess. Of course, I got the standard “does it have tofu?!” But then I said “no” and had them stumped for quite a while. No one guessed cauliflower and when I told them that’s what it was, they all said they couldn’t even taste it. Madison said it tasted like a creamy potato soup.

The recipe can be found here: Cauliflower Bisque with “Buttered” Bread Crumbs. It’s much easier to make than it looks; trust me — I made it from start to finish in less than an hour. There are a couple of tiny tweaks I would make the next time I cook this, though. I used only the amount of sea salt listed in the recipe. I didn’t think it needed any extra when I tasted the finished soup. I did add some freshly-ground black pepper, which I thought it needed. Also, I think I’ll add more garlic next time, just to kick it up a little more.

One last note: If you prefer your soup with some “chunks” in it, follow all of the instructions except don’t add the carrot/celery/onion mixture to the cauliflower to get pureed. Leave it in the saute pan until you’ve completed everything else and then stir it into the creamy soup at the end. I pureed everything per the recipe, but next time I might leave some of the veggie bites in it.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

