Goodbye, stuff. Goodbye, stress.

22 Sep

One of the “things” that can raise your blood pressure is stress. Reduced stress leads to reduced blood pressure. I think I have a lot of stress — most of it probably my own doing. I have three kids, all with different activities. Stress. I own my own business and work crazy hours so I can get to all my kids’ activities while staying on schedule with client deadlines. Stress. I volunteer my time. A lot. Probably more than I should. Stress. And I attempt to maintain a household while dealing with high blood pressure. Stress.

One of the things that has been stressing me out the most lately is the lack of organization in my house. You move into a new house and everything has a place and things are good. Then you have a child. And things have to be shifted to make room for all their stuff. And then you have more kids and more stuff and they get older and outgrow stuff and they get new age-appropriate stuff and before you know it, your house has stuff tucked in every possible place and nothing make sense anymore. That’s where I’m at right now. Too much stuff in too little space.

I don’t think my house is too small. It’s certainly no mansion and it’s older than I am, but it has just about everything we need — it sits on two beautiful acres, has a big family room with a fireplace, a decent kitchen and office, a huge garage, a swimming pool, and an awesome new screened in patio. It has doodly-squat for storage. I’m not exaggerating. There are very few closets, and the ones we do have are very small with nothing but a clothes-hanging bar. And every closet is jam-packed. Like I said, too much stuff in too little space. My house is in dire need of reducing and reorganizing. It has been stressing me for quite a while. Last month, I made a big, bad list of every nook and cranny I wanted to clean out and re-organize. I was ready to get started on it, but I knew it would be easier to accomplish once the kids were back in school.

About a week after school started, I was at my friend Lisa’s house. She was showing me some recent redecorating they had done in various rooms. As we walked from room to room, I could feel my heart start to race. Her house was immaculate. Her closets were neat and orderly. Her rooms were organized and everything seemed to be in its place. I wanted it. I wanted it bad. I wanted that organization. I wanted everything to have a place and everything in its place.

It made me even more motivated than I already was. (Thank you, Lisa!)

My mom and dad left this morning after spending a long weekend with us. They were in town for our annual family reunion on my mom’s side. In the three days they were here, they helped me reduce some serious stress. After explaining what I wanted to do, and brainstorming storage solutions, my mom and I spent all day Saturday shopping. Mission: Organization had begun. We went to Lowe’s, Home Depot, Target, Menard’s and back to Lowe’s (plus lunch at J. Alexander’s!). I bought shelving for my (teeny, tiny) bedroom closet. I bought canvas bins for kids shoes and hats/mittens, and I bought roll-outs for inside some of my kitchen cabinets. Oh yeah, we shopped. Goodbye, stress. (Thanks, Mom!)

In the meantime, my dad and Jason emptied one of my biggest cabinets. Brady helped my dad install the roll-outs. I threw out some old kitchen things I didn’t need, boxed up all my cake pans to go to the attic, re-vamped my pantry so more could fit in there and filled the new roll-outs. Goodbye, stress.

On Monday, I emptied my bedroom closet and my dad installed my new shelving. I LOVE IT! Jason and I have very little space to put our clothes and I think this is finally the solution. (Thanks, Dad!) Goodbye, stress.

Yesterday I ran to Meijer and bought an inexpensive shelving unit for the hallway closet upstairs, plus three large storage tubs with lids. I’m pitching 90% of what’s in that closet (it’s junk we haven’t even seen since the day we moved in!) and then I’m moving a bunch of kids toys into that closet. Goodbye, stress.

Tomorrow, Mission: Organization continues. Goodbye, stuff. Goodbye, stress.

3 Responses to “Goodbye, stuff. Goodbye, stress.”

  1. diana September 22, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Hooray for less stuff & less stress!! Your closet looks great!

  2. tamiespears September 22, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Thanks! Now I just need to get the rest of my closets looking that good! 🙂

  3. Nicotinic Acid January 24, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    *,” I am very thankful to this topic because it really gives up to date information ,`~

Leave a Reply

