I’m front-page news

20 Aug

…in my local paper! I went out to the mailbox and was quite surprised to see my face on the cover of the Bedford Now newspaper. I was interviewed a couple weeks ago, but was under the impression my story would be somewhere within the paper like any other piece of local news. Crazy!

I’m excited because my main purpose in blogging my journey was to help someone else learn something new, make smarter food choices, or encourage them to seek out other options for health issues. On the other hand, I’m a little freaked out. It’s a weird sort of feeling knowing that every person in my township will be reading this. I hope people are inspired by it or even just interested in what others are doing to heal themselves. And, I hope they aren’t frightened by the word “vegan.”

Sadly, telling someone you’re vegan often leads them to think you’re really weird — like you sit around eating tofu all day or something! That’s so not true. Vegan simply means that you eat everything but animals. It’s really not that hard. I think it’s just a misunderstood word. If you read through my blog, you’ll see that I cook all kinds of tasty dishes. Yes, there are some ingredients that come from the health food store but, for the most part, these are meals anyone can cook with ingredients from their local supermarket. Plus, I only post the ones that my kids really loved.

Speaking of kids, mine are awesome! They have 100% supported me in this transition. They still eat meat and cheese and all their favorites, but they taste and critique every vegan thing I make. By choice, Madison puts So Delicious coconut milk on her cereal. If there’s vegan ice cream in the freezer, they beg for it. Oh, and just ask them about the vegan cupcakes I’ve made.

I guess the one thing I want readers to know is that what you put in your body is important. Chemicals are for cleaning toilets…not for fueling your body. So read your food labels. Your body will thank you!

Note: If you want to learn more about the food industry in America, check out the movie “Food, Inc.” It does have a segment on the problems with the meat industry, but it has many more segments covering all kinds of grocery store items. I promise you will learn something new.

Also, read my blog post on June 29 for my philosophy on eating meat.

One last note: I just re-read the newspaper article and it states that we don’t buy any meat substitutes or processed foods. Though I try to limit these products because of the sodium content, we do still buy them on occasion. Right now, I especially like the Gardein vegan chik’n products. I buy them when they go on clearance and keep them in my freezer for me to have when the rest of the family is having chicken. As for processed foods, well…I’m not one to pass up sweet potato chips, Triscuits, or vegan granola bars! Everything in moderation, right? 🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 Responses to “I’m front-page news”

  1. cat August 21, 2010 at 4:02 am #

    how exciting, bet your kids were thrilled

  2. Tamie Spears August 21, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    They're very proud of mom — but they were most excited that they got mentioned in the article!

  3. Diana Stark August 21, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    I just read your article in the paper and you have inspired me to take my health into my own hands!! I'm excited to follow your progress and hopefully I can

  4. Tamie Spears August 21, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Diana – I'm so glad you found the article inspiring! That was my whole goal in keeping an online journal of my progress. I'm still working on my BP, but every day that I eat this way is a step in the right direction. It's not as low as it needs to be YET, but I have a few other things I want to try in addition to a whole foods diet. Good luck!

  5. Alycia August 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Tamie-I read the article about you in Bedford Now and am very impressed.

Leave a Reply

