I did it!

17 Aug

I actually drank 8 glasses of “water” yesterday.

I know that doesn’t sound like much of an accomplishment to some of you, but here’s the thing. I hate water. Did you hear that? I hate water. Yuck. It tastes like metal.

Oh, I know what you’re thinking. Try bottled. Add lemon. I’ve heard them all before.

Here’s the other thing: I’m not much of a drinker. I’ll have a cup of tea or coffee at breakfast, something to drink with lunch and another cup of something at dinner. Sometimes I’ll make a vegan hot chocolate at bedtime. Other than that, I don’t really drink much. I’ve never been one of those people who sips water all day long.

But, yesterday, I did it. I’m hoping it’s the key to knocking this blood pressure right back to normal. My chiropractor told me the other day, “The solution to pollution is dilution.” It totally makes sense. So I said, “does it have to be plain old water?” Nope. Tea is fine and so is water with lemon and stevia.

I got up yesterday and had a cup of tea with breakfast. One cup down. Then I took a 16 oz. bottled water and added one tablespoon of fresh-squeezed lemon juice and 1/4 teaspoon of liquid stevia. It was gone before lunch! Two more down. I refilled the bottle with cold tap water and mixed in the lemon juice and stevia. I drank some with lunch and took the rest with me in the car for afternoon errands. Two more down. When I got home, I forced myself to just chug a cup of water. Then I had a glass of lemonade (made with stevia) for dinner and another cup of tea at bedtime. DONE! Eight glasses. Whew.

On to the challenge again today. So far, I’m still sipping my morning cup of tea. Sigh.


Read and post comments | Send to a friend

4 Responses to “I did it!”

  1. ErinGoBragh August 17, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    I like your chiropractor's saying. I think I'll steal it.

  2. Tamie Spears August 18, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    I'll try that today! Yesterday I only managed to get 6 glasses in. But today's another day!

  3. Margo August 19, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Well done, you! Check in the "ethnic" aisle of your grocery store for "Robinson's." It's British and you just add a bit to your water and suddenly it's a refreshing lemonade, or black currant. Take your pick. A little goes a long way.

  4. Tamie Spears August 19, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Thanks, Margo! I'll look for that. Is it in a box or a jar?

Leave a Reply

