I can’t believe I drank this…

30 Jul

And I can’t believe my two boys drank this for breakfast…and loved it!

It was sweet, creamy, fruity, filling, delicious and packed with nutrition. Are you dying to know what it was?

A green smoothie.

No, not really green in color. Green because it contained — now, don’t freak out — spinach!

I just heard you say “yuck” and it’s okay. I thought the same thing. I’ve been reading about people who can’t get through their day without their morning green smoothie and I thought there was no way I could gag down a smoothie made with salad ingredients. But the more I read about them, the more interested I became.

Calorie for calorie, spinach is one of the most nutrient-packed superfoods out there. It’s an excellent source of vitamins A, C, E, K, B1 and B6. It’s high in beta-carotene. In addition, spinach contains potassium, calcium, iron and a bunch of other minerals that can help control blood pressure and protect you from heart disease.

As far as green smoothies go, I imagine this is one of the milder ones. I’ve seen recipes for ones that contain wheat grass and sea kelp and all kinds of strange “greens.” This is basically a fruit smoothie with the addition of spinach. I read somewhere online that as long as the smoothie has half of a ripe banana in it, you won’t taste the spinach. I was intrigued and decided to give it a try.

As soon as I hauled out the blender, the boys got excited. I told them I was trying a new smoothie and that I would make mine first and they could taste it. If they liked it, I’d make them one, too. Well, they loved it. They had that for breakfast along with a piece of whole wheat toast with peanut butter and neither was whining an hour later that they were hungry.

I hope you’ll give it a try, especially if you are already a smoothie-making kind of person. I was really surprised with it and, after I drank it, I felt really good about myself. Kind of pleased with myself for starting off my day with something so nutritious. I’ll bet Popeye felt that way every day!

GREEN SMOOTHIE
makes 1 serving

1 cup fresh spinach
1 cup frozen strawberries
1/2 of a ripe banana
1/2 cup So Delicious coconut milk, or milk of your choice
1 tablespoon honey
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Put all ingredients in the blender and puree. Enjoy!

p.s. Not a bad way to sneak veggies into your child’s diet!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “I can’t believe I drank this…”

  1. Lindajoy July 31, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I am so gonna try that right now!!!

  2. Tamie Spears July 31, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    let me know if you like it!

  3. ErinGoBragh July 31, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    YUCK!! hahahaha

Leave a Reply

