“You had steak and shrimp when I wasn’t even here?!”

30 Jun

Sorry, Madison! They did. On Sunday night, I grilled a couple of steaks from our farmer and some skewers of shrimp (more on that later). Madison was at a sleepover with my nieces, and my nephew was here for a sleepover with Brady and Logan. She was not happy when she got home and found out what the boys had for dinner.

I had decided I was going to make my third recipe for the Eating Well magazine monthly challenge — Grilled Shrimp Skewers over White Bean Salad from the July/August 2010 issue. I didn’t have quite enough shrimp in the freezer to feed all these boys (and hubby), so I thawed a package of steak to go with it. I, of course, had grilled portobello mushrooms instead of meat, which I have become somewhat addicted to. I concocted a yummy marinade that leaves them tasting very meaty when grilled (recipe below). 

The recipe from Eating Well was fantastic. The boys loved the shrimp and everyone liked the white bean salad. I think my 8-year-old nephew even went back for seconds or thirds! As for me…I am in love with it. Honestly, I could eat it every day. The only real change I made to the recipe was using 1-1/2 teaspoons dried sage instead of 2 tablespoons fresh sage. I don’t have sage growing in my herb garden, but the end result was perfect. This salad has a very Mediterranean feel, and could be used as a basis for many other salads. Personally, I’ll add more grape tomatoes next time, but I could see it with some olives, or maybe some grilled artichoke chunks or sliced red peppers. The dressing is lemony, but not overpowering. I would maybe even add a splash of red wine vinegar to it next time for an added zing.

I’m excited to say that we’re 3 for 3 on the Eating Well challenge recipes so far!

Meaty Marinade
makes about 1/2 cup

1/4 cup olive oil
2-1/2 tablespoons Bragg’s Liquid Aminos or reduced sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon Worchestershire sauce (vegan, if you can find it)
1 tablespoon grainy mustard (mine is called “grainy mustard with garlic”)
1/2 teaspoon McCormick grill seasoning
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic

Whisk all ingredients together in a small bowl. Pour over item to be marinated and refrigerate. The longer it marinates, the more meaty the flavor. Grill and enjoy!

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One Response to ““You had steak and shrimp when I wasn’t even here?!””

  1. yummumamanda@gmail.com July 7, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Thanks for this great giveaway! I would love to
    read this.thank you for making this….organic baby food supplies

Leave a Reply

