Peas and basil and corn, oh my!

26 Jun

I love summer's bounty of fresh vegetables. My garden is growing like crazy and we've already enjoyed various fresh lettuces for the last several weeks. My tomato and green bean plants are covered in blooms, and the squashes are trailing vines and blossoms right over the edges of the garden boxes.

Today, I harvested my first batch of peas! I remember shelling peas as a kid, and eating many of them straight out of the pods. If you ever have the chance to do that, I highly recommend it. The taste and texture are completely different than the frozen peas you get in winter (and don't even mention canned peas to me. Blech.)

Another thing I love? Fresh basil. It's my all-time favorite herb. I have a big pot of it growing on my patio, along with a variety of other herbs. It's fantastic chopped and sprinkled on fresh sliced tomatoes, delicious over pasta with roasted vegetables, tasty in vegetable soup. And, it contains magnesium, potassium, iron, calcium, vitamin C and vitamin A — all of which are beneficial to healthy blood pressure.

Oh, and I love corn on the cob. Is there a more perfect summer food? (Ok, maybe watermelon…or tomatoes…) But, really. Is there anyone that can resist those beautiful, golden ears of corn drizzled in butter (vegan, of course) and sprinkled with cracked black pepper? I don't think so. I wish I had room in my garden for rows and rows of sweet corn. I'll just have to get them at the farmer's market. Here's something interesting I'll bet you didn't know about sweet corn: it offers many health benefits! Apparently, cooking it releases antioxidants that can substantially reduce the chance of heart disease and cancer. Sweet!
My second Eating Well challenge recipe from the July/August 2010 issue combines both of these wonderful flavors into savory little pancakes…and they are divine. My kids devoured the Corn & Basil Cakes (page 37) in no time and were begging for more! 
When I first looked at the recipe, I thought, "half a cup of chopped basil?!" But I went with it, preparing the recipe exactly as listed in the magazine, and I'm so glad I did. I was afraid the basil would overpower the whole pancake, but it was just right. They are super easy to make, have a minimal number of ingredients, and would be absolutely fabulous alongside anything you decide to barbecue…chicken, ribs, tofu, portobello mushrooms, whatever. 
Challenge recipe #2 — another success! Now on to #3…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “Peas and basil and corn, oh my!”

  1. Jamie | My Baking Addiction June 26, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Hi Tamie-
    My name is Jamie, I work with Shawn at the Chop House. He told me about your blog, since I too am a local blogger, so I thought I would stop by. You have

  2. Tamie Spears June 27, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Thanks, Jamie. I hope you'll stop by often and read my blog. What is your blog address, so I can check it out?

  3. yummumamanda@gmail.com July 1, 2010 at 2:04 am #

    Very nice concept. Very appreciate ale. Thank
    you for this blog…..healthy childrens recipes

Leave a Reply

