Oh, man. This stuff’s so good I could drink it!

24 Jun

Those are the exact words out of my 5-year-old’s mouth as he tasted the dipping sauce for Eating Well magazine’s Cornmeal-Crusted Chicken Nuggets with Blackberry Mustard. More on the recipe below…

If you haven’t picked up the latest issue of this wonderful magazine, make sure you do — because I’M IN IT!

My story and blog are discussed in the Letter from the Editor on page 8! I’m so excited that people are finding my information, recipes and comments inspiring. I should note, though, that limited space in the magazine meant limited information on my history. And I want to clarify one thing: Yes, I’ve had high blood pressure for 12 years, but I’ve only been fighting it with diet for 6 months. Prior to that, I was on various prescription drugs that caused a severe allergic reaction. That’s what led me to this journey to achieve normal blood pressure more naturally.

High blood pressure is a serious condition. It can lead to kidney failure, heart disease, stroke and many other things. Living with it uncontrolled would be a pretty stupid thing to do. Though my BP was under control with the drugs, the reactions I had to taking them for 12 years (one of which landed me in the ER!) made me seek out alternative ways of getting it back to normal. I made a pledge this past January to try to get it controlled without the use of drugs — through diet, exercise and supplements. I’m giving myself one year.

So, back to the magazine. At the end of the editor’s letter, she offered up a challenge to try 10 recipes from the current issue (July/August 2010) and to post comments on their blog. I’m taking this challenge and sharing the results and our comments here on my blog.

The first recipe I selected is one I knew my kids would want to try: Cornmeal-Crusted Chicken Nuggets with Blackberry Mustard. It’s not vegan, but it’s a super-healthy way to feed your chicken nugget-lovers a better nugget. (Did you know that a McDonald’s chicken nugget has about 60 ingredients and most of them are chemicals or derivatives of corn?!) Eating Well’s nuggets were such a cinch to put together, I had dinner on the table in about 30 minutes. I had some locally-raised chicken in my freezer so I sliced the breasts into strips. You simply toss the chicken strips in cornmeal and saute them in an oiled pan. The dipping sauce was also a breeze. I used raspberries because I had some in my fridge. It was so yummy, my kids were even dunking their redskin potato wedges and peas in it! I ate vegan chik’n strips with the dipping sauce.

I’m happy to report that challenge recipe #1 was a total success. I’ll be adding it to my regular dinner rotation. Be sure to check back often as I make my way through this challenge. You might just discover the ultimate summer recipe!

Leave a Reply

