Fun with Food.

3 Jun

I have to say, my kids are really good about eating vegetables. They enjoy just about any kind you put in front of them, except for salad. Now, they like salads such as pasta salad, fruit salad, and potato salad…just not the straight-up lettuce and veggies with salad dressing kind of salad. Madison will occasionally eat a dinner salad if it doesn't have too many extras on it and she can drown it in ranch dressing, but the other two want nothing to do with it. 

I usually buy Romaine, mixed baby greens or just green leaf lettuce. I never buy iceberg lettuce. It really has no flavor and the only thing appealing about it (to me) is the crunch. But, it was on sale dirt cheap at the vegetable market yesterday so I decided to get a head and see if they would like it instead of some of the more flavorful greens.
Have you seen those salads served in restaurants where they take a head of iceberg lettuce and cut a big wedge? That goes on your plate with various toppings and usually blue cheese dressing. I've never had one before, but it got me thinking…
Here's what I came up with. I cut the head of lettuce in half and then cut one half into 4 wedges. I cut the other half into 3 wedges so Jason & I could have bigger pieces. Each of the kids had one of the 4 smaller wedges. For theirs, I put shredded cheddar cheese and shredded carrots on the bottom, then set the wedge on top. I added cucumber "wheels" and a skewered tomato "race car flag" then drizzled with ranch dressing (their favorite). They actually ate them! All three kids! They thought it was "totally cool."
For mine and Jason's, I topped the wedge with diced tomatoes, cucumbers, minced parsley, shredded carrots, sliced radishes and those crunchy little Chinese noodles. I drizzled mine with balsamic vinaigrette. Delicious! Give it a try the next time you're looking for a different kind of salad.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “Fun with Food.”

  1. Sir2You June 5, 2010 at 1:02 am #

    [c’est top]

  2. Tamie Spears June 5, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    THANKS.

  3. Bookmole June 8, 2010 at 11:35 am #

Leave a Reply

