Girl Scout camp meals a success…sort of…

16 May

A few weeks ago, I spent a day at Cub Scout camp with Brady. The food was quite a challenge for me as a vegan. And, there was no fresh fruit available at any of the meals. I struggled through the meals and came home hungry.

Yesterday, I spent a jam-packed day at Girl Scout camp with Madison. Though the food wasn't ideal for a vegan, I had a much better experience coming up with something than at the Cub Scout camp. And this time, I went prepared! I packed a small bag of peanuts, a bag of Triscuits, two apples, and two slices of vegan cheese in my backpack. I just wanted to make sure I had protein and a snack in case there was absolutely nothing I could eat.
Lunch was pizza — big, fat, thick-crusted, pizza oozing with cheese. Obviously, I skipped that. They also had butter and cheese covered breadsticks with pizza sauce to dip in. Next on the buffet was a "salad bar" (and I use that term lightly). Iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, Bac-Os (see note below), shredded cheese and croutons. Dessert was a lemon bar cookie. I skipped the pizza and breadsticks, but piled my tray-plate with a huge heap of lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers and croutons. As an afterthought, I decided to grab a container of the pizza sauce to dip my Triscuits in. I picked up a few packets of Italian dressing and headed back to the table.
I sprinkled the top of my salad with some of the peanuts I had brought from home and got out my bag of Triscuits to dunk in the pizza sauce. For dessert, I spread a little container of jelly onto two of the Triscuits and ate those with one of the apples from home. Not my ideal lunch, but — all in all, it was a satisfying meal and no animals were harmed in the process.
Dinner was just a little better — broiled chicken, mashed potatoes swimming in butter, steamed vegetables not swimming in butter (yay!), another "salad bar," dinner rolls, and some type of cake for dessert. The salad bar was the same as the lunch one except they also added sliced mushrooms, which I was so happy for! I made another big salad, and took a generous pile of steamed veggies, a roll and French dressing. 
They offered fresh fruit at both meals, but nothing was very ripe. I selected a pear to have with dinner, but it was too hard so I brought it home. I wish I had remembered the vegan cheese slices I packed. They would have been really good on the salad. I totally forgot about them until I unpacked my backpack at home.
The only drink offered at Cub Scout camp was a fruit punch drink or water. At Girl Scout camp, they had the full Coke product machines along with lemonade, iced tea, four kinds of 100% juice, milk, chocolate milk, chocolate soymilk, coffee and hot tea.
Even though I was better prepared this time, I have to say that the Girl Scouts outdid the Boy Scouts.
Note: Believe it or not, Bac-Os are vegan. They contain no animal products of any kind. They are basically soy sauce and tofu. One might think this was good news…until one reads the ingredient list. Defatted soy flour, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, water, salt, sugar, artificial and natural flavor, red 40 and other color added, soy sauce (water, wheat, soybeans, salt), hydrolyzed vegetable protein (corn, soy wheat). 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Girl Scout camp meals a success…sort of…”

  1. EdoardoGreece89 May 16, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Perhaps a fruit punch drink is an option

  2. Tamie Spears May 16, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    ?

Leave a Reply

