It’s a good day for a cup of hot cocoa.

13 May
I'm getting closer to normal blood pressure, but I can't seem to get there. I'm doing everything I'm supposed to be doing, following all the recommendations I've been given, except for the "lose weight" part. Research shows that losing just 5 to 10 percent of your current weight can bring blood pressure down. Losing 5 to 10 percent of my weight shouldn't be that hard. 

I've been vegan for 4 months now. I haven't eaten a single bite of meat, milk, cheese, or eggs in 4 months. I haven't lost a single pound. I weigh the same as I did in January. Oy.

So I've been giving some thought to the "why" of this situation. 
I've been living quite happily on veggies, fruits, beans and grains. I'm making really healthy food choices. But, I haven't been paying attention to what I've been eating — from a calorie standpoint. And we all know that the only way to lose weight is to eat less calories than you burn. 
A few months after my second child was born in 2001, Jason and I decided to follow the Weight Watchers program. We both had weight to lose. We didn't go to meetings or anything, but we had a copy of the Points book and we followed it religiously, writing down everything we ate. And we walked. We packed the kids up in the double stroller and walked at least a half hour a day.
We both lost 30 pounds in 6 months (I weighed 10 pounds less than at my wedding!) and we kept it off until baby #3. 
I still have my WW Points guide book, so I decided last week to track what I was eating for a week just to see where I was at. I scrounged up a small notebook and started writing down what I ate. Though I wasn't eating much over my Points limit, I was eating more than I should for weight loss. It was usually the bedtime snack that was pushing me over on the Points.
Four days ago, I started eating within my Points range. Hopefully, I'll see a lower number on the scale when I weigh in on Saturday morning. I'm eating even more veggies at dinner so I'm not hungry in the evening. Usually, I just have a nice cup of hot cocoa before bed. It's vegan, homemade, and only 1 Point per cup (about 40 calories). It's the perfect ending to the day.
Or, it's a great start to a rainy, dreary day like today!
HOT COCOA
makes 1 serving
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
5-6 drops liquid stevia (slightly less than 1/8 teaspoon)
1 slightly heaped tablespoon unsweetened cocoa powder
Heat almond milk in small pan over medium heat, or in the microwave. Stir in stevia and cocoa powder. Whisk rapidly until frothy and well blended. Enjoy!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

