Happy Mother’s Day!

9 May

My kids asked me what I wished for for Mother's Day. I only had to think for one second to come up with my answer — "children who don't bicker over silly stuff." I think they thought I was joking, but I was being serious… 

From Logan, I received a beautiful flower planted in a small clay pot that he had decorated at school. Madison and Brady both made me a coupon book with all kinds of things they'll do for me when I decide to use one. (One of Madison's coupons actually said "go one whole day without fighting with Brady".) But, honestly, they really are good kids.

So I've been doing pretty good with the walking and I can see the effect on my BP. I'm doing about a mile and half a day (30 minutes), 4 to 5 days a week. On one of these walks, I wondered just how many calories I was burning. Now, I'm not casually strolling, but I'm not jogging either. I'm doing about an 18 to 20-minute mile. I Googled it and there it was.
Ummm…approximately 74 calories. WHAT?! Are you kidding me? 
I decided to Google other 30-minute activities and how many calories are burned. Bike riding at a moderate pace for 30 minutes burns 200 calories! I had no idea!
Okay, but, I'm not a bike rider. Not that I don't like it. It's just not at the top of my list of fun things to do. Even growing up, my sister was the one who lived on her bike. She went everywhere on it. But, then Jason and I had kids, started going camping, and everyone had a bike but me. So, he decided to buy me one for my birthday about 3 years ago. I don't think I had been on a bike in, oh…maybe 25 years? The first time I rode it was while camping at Maumee Bay State Park. I got on, got my balance and rode better than I thought I would! I was proud of myself as we all rode together as a family. But about 5 minutes into the ride, well, let's say the seat was just not that comfortable. And in the 3 years I've owned the bike, I think I've ridden it 3 or 4 times. The rest of the time it lives in my attic.
But then I read about how many more calories you can burn in the same 30 minutes of exercise. I told Jason about it and he surprised me with a new, cushy bike seat for Mother's Day! I hopped right on my bike and took off down the street. It's so comfy! 
Now I just have to build up my endurance. I rode to the end of my street and back (1/2 mile total) and was winded. My kids ride their bikes for hours at a time and I was tired after about 5 minutes! All in good time, right? I hope it has the same effect on my BP as walking and I hope it helps me drop a few pounds because I'm convinced that's what is keeping my BP from returning to normal.
For now, I'm off to enjoy my day. We're heading to Jason's parents. So that my mother-in-law isn't stuck doing all the cooking on Mother's Day, I made a vegan potato salad (pics to come), a veganized version of the dressing for that broccoli/raisin/red onion salad, and a yummy marinade for grilled portobellos (the omnivores are having barbecued ribs).
To my mom, my mother-in-law, my grandma, my sister, and all the moms out there — I hope you have a fabulous day!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

