Breakfast scramble…

29 Apr

Do you tofu? I do, occasionally. It's not at the top of my list of favorites, but I have prepared it few times where I actually enjoyed it. 

One of the few things I've kind of missed as a vegan is eggs. Not that I was ever a big egg eater (once in a while on the weekend and the occasional deviled egg), but I do like making omelets and they are a great quick-prep dinner. Yesterday was one of those days where you never stop running until it's dinner time. So when we got home from the chiropractor at 6 p.m., with no dinner in progress, I turned to eggs. The kids wanted fried eggs and Jason wanted an omelet. I decided to try a breakfast scramble made with tofu. A recipe or two for Tofu Scramble appears in just about every vegan cookbook, so I thought I'd go for it. 
I looked up a couple of different recipes and they're all basically the same. Tofu + sauteed veggies + seasonings. I had leftover grilled mushrooms from the night before, so I sauteed onions and bell pepper slices and then tossed in the grilled mushrooms to heat through. I set those aside while I "scrambled" the tofu in a separate small skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray. I used firm (not silken) tofu that had been pressed to get the water out. Then I just sort of crumbled it into the skillet like feta cheese. I added a dash of turmeric to give it a nice scrambled egg color and cooked it until heated through. The vegetables went in next, along with some salt substitute and freshly-ground black pepper. I "scrambled" it all together and then topped it with vegan provolone cheese.
Honestly, for a first attempt, it was pretty good! It had the same texture as scrambled eggs. Next time, I would season it with other herbs, like thyme or tarragon, and maybe some fresh parsley. Jason and the kids gave it a "not bad!"
Along side, I decided to saute an Yves brand vegan Italian sausage link in a little olive oil. (Yes, I know…kind of a "processed" meal and probably not very low on the sodium…but, a nice treat!) It was delicious and passed the hubby/kid test with four thumbs up. Brady even asked for more, but I had already eaten the whole thing! I had sliced it very thinly on the diagonal and it got a little crispy in the pan, which actually gave it a Canadian bacon sort of flavor and texture. Next time, I'm going to slice it lengthwise and see if it ends up similar to a strip of bacon.
So, the moral of the story? Never fear trying new things. You just might end up pleasantly surprised!

[post comments below!]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Breakfast scramble…”

  1. paelo diet April 14, 2013 at 5:42 pm #

    This study has been criticised because of the ease in grilling and the abundance
    of fresh food at farmers markets this time of year again: back-to-school time!
    You’ve read a bit about the diet made me feel uncomfortable. Peanuts are legumes and not allow in diet. Salmon, turkey, chicken, and fish. diet breakfast recipes can assist you begin your dietary day off. Black coffee, sugar-free and dairy-free, is a better option.

  2. free seo tools April 21, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    Invite Customers with an Interesting home business NameNot every entrepreneur will
    be able to enter your bank account balances,
    but what about revenues?

Leave a Reply

