It never hurts to try new things.

22 Apr

One of the things we taught our kids as toddlers was that they needed to try new foods when offered to them. They didn't have to finish eating something if they truly didn't like it, but they still had to try. This has been our rule all along and they now actually look forward to trying new things, even 5-year-old Logan.

I had to drag, umm…I mean take, my kids with me to the store yesterday after school because I didn't have time to go without them during the day. While wandering through the produce department, they came across several fruits they had never seen before. I told them they could pick whichever one they could all agree they wanted to try. They decided on a Kiwano Melon, also known as a horny melon. It's about the size of a pear and is covered in spikes. We picked one that had a slight softness to it, assuming that would mean it was ripe.
I decided to cut it up for dinner. When I cut it in half, it was filled with little seeds and what looked like green Jello. I immediately got online and searched it, because I had no idea how to eat it! Apparently, you cut it in half and sort of slurp and suck this juicy green part out. The seeds are edible and have very little flavor. Then you discard the rind and what's left of the inside. 
We all gave it a try. At first slurp, it has a mild sort of kiwi/banana flavor. The texture is very much like Jello, only more slippery. All three kids agreed it was interesting and they kind of liked it, but not something they would eat regularly. I suppose if you could come up with a better way to eat it (i.e., make it into a smoothie or salad dressing or something), then they'd be all over it. 
In the end, we tried something new, liked it and benefitted from the nutrients in it. And I'm proud that I have raised kids who aren't afraid to try new foods. They're awesome.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “It never hurts to try new things.”

  1. Michelle Ridler April 23, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    That's cool! Trying to get my kids to try new things, its tough! Earlier in the week you mentioned planning dinners out for the week. Please share your weekly plan. I always need ideas. Thanks!

  2. Tamie Spears April 23, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    My March 9th post had a sample menu for the week, if that helps. I haven't put together the one for next week yet, but I'll try to post it. I'm vegan, but my kids/husband still eat meat. So we do one chicken, one beef and one fish dinner each week (I substitute something for myself). The rest are meat free meals (like vegan mac & cheese, lasagna, white bean burgers, soup, etc.) It's the only thing that keeps me sane during the week!

Leave a Reply

