Not your grandma’s Brussels sprouts.

20 Apr

I'm not talking specifically about my grandma's Brussels sprouts — I'm talking about Brussels sprouts in general. The mushy, overcooked kind that seem to be a holiday dinner staple. I've never liked them. I think they're just steamed for so long that they end up bitter tasting. I'm sure I'm not the only person who would choose absolutely any other vegetable over Brussels sprouts.

That's sad, too, because Brussels sprouts are so good for you. Like most vegetables, they are low in calories and fat, and rich in vitamins A and C. They are loaded with calcium — which does more than just build strong bones. Research shows that calcium is an important mineral in controlling high blood pressure. In addition, Brussels sprouts are an excellent source of potassium, which has also been linked to blood pressure control.
But here's the best part for those eating a plant-based diet: Brussels sprouts are high in protein. More than one-fourth of their calories come from protein. Eating Brussels sprouts with a whole grain, like brown rice, makes for a complete protein (and a great plant-based meal!).

While grocery shopping the other day, I came across a small package of Brussels sprouts sporting a clearance sticker. I don't think I've ever purchased Brussels sprouts before, but I'm a sucker for a mark-down, so I bought them. Hmmm…now what to do with them. I remember my good friend, Gene, telling me some time ago that he's had success sauteing them in olive oil. I started experimenting and here's what I came up with. They are surprisingly delicious!
NOT-YOUR-GRANDMA'S BRUSSELS SPROUTS
serves 4
2 tablespoons coconut oil or olive oil
12 ounces Brussels sprouts, halved
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons Earth Balance vegan butter
salt substitute and pepper to taste
3 tablespoons sliced almonds, toasted
In a large saute pan or skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add Brussels sprouts and saute until just starting to brown. Cover and cook for 3 minutes. Remove lid and stir in garlic and vegan butter. Continue to saute (uncovered) until garlic is softened and Brussels sprouts are tender and lightly browned, but not overcooked. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle with sliced almonds and enjoy!
[post comments below]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 Responses to “Not your grandma’s Brussels sprouts.”

  1. Mother Leopard April 20, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    I've never had brussel sprouts before and thus had no idea how to make them so I'm going to try this tonight and I'll let you know how it goes!

  2. Mother Leopard April 21, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    Update: Delicious!

  3. I Love Kitchen Gadgets! April 22, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I love them so much I just planted some this year. I sure hope they grow and I'll play around with cooking them. I roast them in the oven after tossing them with olive oil and a bit of minced garlic and sea salt. Gives them a totally different flavor roasting them.

  4. Tamie Spears April 26, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    I will give that a try! I've never liked cooked cauliflower very much but I roasted it one day and now I love it!

  5. Tamie Spears May 8, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Hmmm…

  6. Tamie Spears May 24, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    I just discovered that you can buy frozen whole brussels sprouts. Anyone try these before? I'm curious if they taste as yummy as fresh.

Leave a Reply

