A new twist on tacos!

19 Apr

We had a busy week last week with my mom in town. Plus, Madison performed in 6 shows of Rapunzel, which basically consumed Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Still, I managed to walk all but one day and eat just the way I need to for my blood pressure, thanks to some advance planning. Planning your dinners for the week on Sunday night and shopping on Monday makes the whole process of cooking dinner less stressful and that's important for controlling blood pressure!

When my mom came up from North Carolina last week, she brought a big envelope of vegan and vegetarian recipes that she had torn out of various magazines for me. Tonight I decided to try one from Eating Well magazine. We love Mexican food, so this one intrigued me — Bean and Butternut Tacos. Sounds like an odd combination, doesn't it? Well, all five of us agreed I should definitely make them again. They were tasty!
I made some small changes to the recipe: 
I used a few good dashes of chili powder instead of the small dried red chiles in the recipe.
I used pinto beans and black beans instead of just pinto beans. 
I used store-bought fresh salsa instead of making the green salsa in the recipe.
Also, the recipe calls for only 1/2 cup of shredded cabbage for 8 tacos. That's 1 tablespoon per taco — definitely not enough! I combined about a cup of shredded cabbage with a cup of shredded lettuce, two chopped green onions, and the cilantro (in the recipe) and everyone had about 1/4 cup of this on each taco. Jason and the kids ate theirs with the feta cheese, per the recipe. I just left it off of mine. (Someday, I'll be brave enough to try making the tofu version of feta cheese!)
Here's the link to the original recipe: 
It's not your typical taco, but it's a wonderful change of pace. Serve it with a side of sweet corn and fresh strawberries for a simple dinner.
For dessert, we had this delicious vegan ice cream from Trader Joe's. It is to die for!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “A new twist on tacos!”

  1. Conrad Buchanan May 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    At me a similar situation. Let's discuss.

  2. Randolf Call May 16, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    In my opinion, it is actual, I will take part in discussion. Together we can come to a right answer.

  3. Tamie Spears May 16, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    I have no idea why I keep getting these random comments. Weird.

Leave a Reply

