Total comfort food, part two

8 Apr

My mom is an incredible chef. Everything she creates is amazing. 

My parents owned a bed and breakfast in North Carolina for about 8 years, where my mom created the most delicious breakfasts, dinners and desserts, and my dad developed his own recipes for healthy, gourmet chicken sausage. After they sold the B&B, my mom started her own business as a private chef. Her top-of-the-line menus are what you would consider "gourmet" and she always uses the best quality ingredients she can get. 

During their time as B&B owners, my mom wrote two cookbooks — Of Peaches & Pansies and Zest! — filled with recipes from the B&B. Don't even ask me what my favorite recipes are, because the list would fill this blog page! Though not as "gourmet" as most of her recipes, her Chicken & Biscuit Pie has continued to top the list of my kids' dinner favorites. It is total comfort food, especially on a dreary, rainy day like today. 
I haven't made this recipe since I went vegan because it's made with chicken, but I was having a craving for it. By swapping out the chicken for mushrooms and potatoes, and using vegetable broth, I turned this into an equally satisfying vegan version. And the best part? The kids didn't even notice that the chicken was missing! Don't be afraid of the long ingredient list — there's minimal chopping and it comes together very quickly. You can mix up the biscuits while the vegetables are simmering on the stove.
VEG & BISCUIT PIE
serves 8
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 pound potatoes, diced
1/2 pound mushrooms, quartered
1 cup diced celery
1/2 cup diced onion
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 cup unbleached flour
3 cups vegetable broth (homemade is best)
2 bay leaves
1 cup sliced or shredded carrots
1 cup green beans, cut into 2" pieces
1/2 cup frozen, shelled edamame or lima beans
1 teaspoon salt or salt substitute
1/2 teaspoon freshly-ground black pepper
1/2 cup frozen corn
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley
Biscuits:
2 cups unbleached flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup vegan butter
3/4 cup plain almond or soy milk
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat a 3 quart (or 9×13) baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.
Heat oil in a large saute pan over medium heat. Saute the potatoes for several minutes until they just begin to soften on the edges. Add in the mushrooms, celery and onion and cook for 2-3 minutes. Stir in the thyme and flour and cook until the flour is incorporated. Gradually stir in the broth, bay leaves, carrots, green beans, edamame or lima beans, salt and pepper. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer until carrots and beans are barely tender, about 15 minutes. Add the corn and peas and simmer another 10 minutes. Remove the bay leaves and stir in the parsley.
Transfer the mixture to the baking dish and set aside.
Make the biscuits: In a food processor, place the flour, baking powder and salt. Pulse several times to blend. Cut the butter into small pieces and add to the flour mixture. Pulse until crumbly. Gradually add the milk and pulse until the mixture clumps together and forms a dough. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll or pat the dough to about 3/4" thickness. Using a biscuit cutter or cookie cutter, cut shapes of dough and place (sides touching) on top of the vegetable mixture. Bake approximately 20 minutes or until biscuits are golden brown. Enjoy!
[post comments below]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Total comfort food, part two”

  1. Mother Leopard April 8, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I'm so doing this! It looks great :)This might sound very ignorant, but I'm always in awe that things are bake-able without eggs. My grandma is the only baker I know, and she's very traditional (by that I mean non-inventive) Mormon, and I think I will surprise her with baked goods that can be made eggless when I next see her šŸ™‚

  2. Tamie Spears April 8, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    I borrowed a book from the library called Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and I've made 2 cupcake recipes from it — with no eggs! I couldn't believe it could work, but they came out light and moist and my family gobbled them up like crazy. I'll continue to post baked things that are vegan, so check back!

Leave a Reply

