Real men eat asparagus.

30 Mar

Well, mine do anyway.

This morning when I signed on to Facebook, Eating Well magazine had posted a new recipe – Roasted Asparagus with Pine Nuts. I sent the link off to my mom because I know she likes asparagus. Then I was at Kroger a few hours later and they had asparagus on sale for $1.77/lb. On a whim, I put a bunch in my cart.

Now, I’ve never been a big fan of asparagus. As a matter of fact, I think today was the first time I’ve ever bought it myself. I’m pretty sure I’ve only ever had it at someone else’s house. But this recipe intrigued me because it has pine nuts and balsamic vinegar, two of my favorites. It was unbelievably easy and fantastic! I served it alongside penne pasta with tomato sauce, but it would make a beautiful side dish for Easter dinner.

As for the men in my family? Jason had a bunch, Brady went back for seconds, and Logan went back for thirds! When he went in for a third helping, I kind of looked at him funny and he said, “Whaaat? It’s awesome!”

The recipe is available here.

The only thing I would change is the time for toasting the pine nuts. The recipe says 7 to 10 minutes. I checked mine at 7 minutes and they were overdone (see picture; I used them anyway). I’d check after 5 minutes next time.

Want to hear the funniest part? After dinner, I got an email from my mom that said, “Made this for myself tonight with some leftover mushroom pasta. It was really yummy! Not a pine nut in the house, so I used some toasted almonds. Delish!” How cool is that?

[post comments below]
March 30, 2010

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

