Cranberry Orange Oatmeal

27 Mar

If you aren't a member of my family and you've been reading this blog, you have probably figured out that I love to cook and experiment in the kitchen. This morning, I started the tea kettle and began preparing my usual bowl of quick cook oats and raisins. But I had a bag of dried cranberries sitting on counter (for the Total Crunch Salad, which I'm making later today) and decided to put some in my oatmeal instead of the raisins. But, maple syrup just didn't sound right with cranberries so I got to thinking and here's what I came up with. It's simple to make and oh, man, is it good!

CRANBERRY ORANGE OATMEAL
makes 1 serving
boiling water
1/3 cup quick cook oats (more if you're a big eater)
2 tablespoons dried cranberries
2 teaspoons sugar or sweetener of your choice
1/2 teaspoon fresh orange zest
1 tablespoon toasted almond slices
Put oats, dried cranberries and Truvia in your serving bowl. Add about 3/4 cup boiling water and stir. Quickly cover with a small plate or pan lid and let sit 2 minutes. Uncover and stir in orange zest. Top with toasted almonds. Slice the rest of the orange and enjoy!
Be sure to check back tomorrow — I'm trying two new recipes today. One is a vegan cornbread to go with the vegan chili I'm making for dinner. I'm also going to try another cupcake recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. 
We have an insane day today — Madison has play rehearsal from 10 to 1, Brady has his Pinewood Derby from 2 to 5 and Madison has to be at the high school by 6 because she's performing in the Junior Soiree concert tonight. Somewhere between 5 and 6 we have to run home for a quick dinner, which will be chili in the slow cooker. Probably not a good day for the blood pressure…

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

