This is good stuff!

24 Mar

On my way to the chiropractor the other day, I stopped at Monnette’s — a family-run fruit/veg/deli market in Toledo. I needed to pick up fruit for lunches. Their produce is always so beautiful and I felt inspired to cook a big pile of roasted vegetables. I bought zucchini, yellow squash, onions, a beet (which I’ve never cooked before), eggplant, and red peppers. I also bought sweet potatoes, sugar snaps, green beans and a bunch of fruit.

Yesterday I chopped up a ton of the vegs, tossed them in olive oil, S&P, and roasted them in the oven. I’m not a big fan of eggplant so I roasted those with some garlic on a separate baking sheet, just in case. I ate a huge plate of the roasted vegs (not eggplant) for lunch. Then I decided to get creative with the eggplant. Have you ever had baba ganoush? It’s a Middle Eastern dip made with eggplant and served with pita bread. It’s not one of my favorites. But it made me think that maybe I could do some other kind of dip with eggplant as the base. After a little experimenting, I succeeded! I’m calling it a paté because it’s pureed vegetables that you spread on bread.

The recipe uses tahini, which is basically ground-up sesame seeds. If you aren’t vegan, just use regular mayo instead of the Vegenaise. This is absolutely delicious served warm, spread onto toasted or grilled baguette. I had a whole grain one in my fridge, so I sliced it and just toasted it in the toaster so I could try the dip on it. I’m looking forward to having some at lunch today to see if the flavors developed even more.

ROASTED EGGPLANT PATÉ
makes about 1 cup

1 large eggplant, peeled and chopped into 1” pieces
4 garlic cloves, peeled
2 tablespoons olive oil or coconut oil
McCormick’s grill seasoning (or salt & pepper for seasoning)
1 tablespoon tahini
pinch of cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon Vegenaise (vegan mayo)
1/2 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
2 tablespoons chopped walnuts, lightly toasted in a dry pan
1 large whole grain baguette, sliced and toasted or grilled

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat a baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large bowl, toss together eggplant, garlic, oil and a few good dashes of grill seasoning. Spread evenly on the prepared baking sheet and roast in the oven for 20 minutes or until garlic cloves are tender and eggplant is lightly browned. Allow to cool slightly.

Place eggplant, garlic, tahini and cayenne pepper in food processor and puree until smooth. Remove to a bowl and stir in Vegenaise and balsamic vinegar. Blend well. Add salt and pepper, if needed. Lightly fold in parsley. Scoop it into your serving bowl and sprinkle with walnuts. Serve warm with toasted/grilled baguette slices. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

