Frustrated…which isn’t good for my BP.

23 Mar

It's been more than 2 months since I ditched the animal products (which I love, by the way). It's been 4 months since I stopped taking BP meds and started this journey toward lowering my BP naturally. Granted, it has dropped tremendously since the day I had the allergic reaction to Diovan, but it's been hovering in the range of 150/100 for entirely too long. Frustrating. 

You know what else is frustrating? I have probably read 30 vegan books and cookbooks in the last 2 months. Every single one mentions that eating a vegan diet will "make the pounds fall off" … "watch the weight disappear effortlessly" … "the weight will just slip away" … etc. 
I've been eating a plant-based diet since mid-January and I haven't lost a single pound. Not one. 
What's up with that?! Alicia Silverstone, I want an answer!
Unfortunately, I think my weight might be what's keeping my blood pressure from returning to normal. The experts say that just dropping 10 pounds can make a huge difference in your blood pressure. Not that I'm obese or anything, but to be in the so-called "normal range" for my height, I'd need to lose about 20 pounds. Ugh. 
So, the mission continues to be 120/80 without drugs, but now I need to take a side trip to weight loss. I guess that means I need to get off my butt and exercise, huh? 'Cause I don't think I'm consuming too many calories. Well, except for the vegan cookies I made over the weekend!
[post comments below]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

6 Responses to “Frustrated…which isn’t good for my BP.”

  1. Vanessa March 23, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I am doing vegan for weight loss and overall health. I have had a few slips, but have been dairy and meat free for about 3 weeks. i have lost about 3 pounds. I do think exercise is the key to all of it. I haven't been exercising, but know that i would be losing more and feeling even better. I just rebel against it, b/c everyone says to do it. So i'm trying to just take my dog for a walk everyday.

  2. Tamie Spears March 23, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I enjoy walking for exercise, but that's about it. Unfortunately, I've been so busy lately that I haven't actually been making time to exercise. I guess it has to become a priority…

  3. Heather March 23, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I've been vegetarian for over a year and vegan for about a month and had been having a VERY hard time losing weight as well. I quit smoking a little over a

  4. Michelle Ridler March 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

    I have been looking into the vegan thing for the exact same reasons as you!

  5. Michelle Ridler March 23, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    I want to loose weight without being on a "diet", counting calories, etc. I also want to have good health. I also have slightly high bp and take meds to control it. It would be great to be med-free! Exercising is up and down for me as well. I wish it was more fun, instead of an extra thing to add to my extra long list!

  6. Tamie Spears March 24, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    Exactly! Exercise is on my list every day but it's one of those things without a deadline so I just keep putting it off.

Leave a Reply

