Taco Bell!

13 Mar

I ate fast food yesterday for lunch. It's been a long time and it was SO good! 

I had Logan with me all morning as I ran from appointment to store to appointment and we just ran out of time to go home for lunch before he had to be at school at noon. So we headed to the new Taco Bell in Lambertville (Logan's choice) and I wasn't disappointed. I'm sure many meat-eaters think vegans just order salad when they go out to eat, but most restaurants have great options for vegetarians and vegans (like Panera and Chipotle, for example).
The Taco Bell employees were very accommodating to my dietary needs. I ordered the Cheesy Rice & Bean Burrito – minus all cheese and sauces, add lettuce and fiesta salsa. I also ordered the regular Nachos – minus the cheese sauce, add a side of guacamole and a side of fiesta salsa, and an ice water. 
I was able to eat vegan, but it was definitely not a healthy blood pressure meal. Based on Taco Bell's nutritional info, the calories came in at about 750 and the sodium was around 1,600 mg. YIKES! The burrito was about 1,000 mg, the chips were 230 mg, and the various sauces totaled about 300 mg. (The same meal without my modifications would be 850 calories and 2,100 mg sodium!) Unfortunately, the flour tortilla and rice were both white, which is basically junk. Eating at home would have been smarter. But, sometimes you get in a pinch and you do the best you can.
I made up for it with today's lunch. I took a whole grain wrap, spread it with hummus, then layered on fresh baby spinach leaves, roasted red peppers, sliced tomatoes, sliced avocado, green onions, a scoop of brown rice (warmed), and a squirt of spicy mustard. Rolled it all up and devoured it! It was delicious!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

