OMG – Margarita Cupcakes?!

8 Mar

No, I’m not kidding. Yes, they have tequila in them.

I have a new favorite cookbook: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. If you haven’t seen it before, you must check it out. It has 75 recipes for fabulous cupcakes and none of them contain eggs or dairy products. I borrowed this book from the library and about 15 recipes into it, I went online and ordered the book from Barnes & Noble. These are not your typical kids birthday party cupcakes, although you could definitely make them for that purpose.

How about Chocolate Cherry Creme Cupcakes, S’mores Cupcakes, Elvis Style Banana Split Cupcakes, or Mexican Hot Chocolate Cupcakes? And there’s no way I’m passing up the Toasted Coconut Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream Frosting, Chai Latte Cupcakes, Tiramisu Cupcakes or Mucho Margarita Cupcakes.

I honestly did not think it was possible to make a moist, fluffy cupcake without eggs. But it is. Yesterday I baked the Cookies & Cream cupcakes and took them for dessert at my in-laws. They were a huge hit. Super moist, rich and so satisfying. I made them exactly as listed except I used So Delicious Coconut Milk in place of the soy milk. (So Delicious Coconut Milk is now available in Kroger’s health food section where the refrigerated soy milk is.) I used the Newman-O’s dairy free chocolate sandwich cookies as it says in the recipe, also available at my local Kroger store.

Vegan Cookies-n-Cream Cupcakes
recipe by Isa Chandra Moskowitz
makes 1 dozen cupcakes

Cupcakes:
1 cup soy, coconut or almond milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
10 Newman-O’s chocolate sandwich cookies, finely crumbled

Whisk together the “milk” and vinegar in a large bowl and set aside. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 12 muffin cups with foil liners.

To the milk mixture, add the sugar, oil and vanilla and beat until foamy. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add to wet ingredients while blending. Stir in cookie crumbs. Beat until no large lumps remain. Pour into liners, filling 3/4 full. Bake 18 to 20 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer to cooling rack and cool completely.

Frosting:
1/2 cup vegan butter (Earth Balance)
1-3/4 cups powdered sugar
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons soy, coconut or almond milk
5 Newman-O’s chocolate sandwich cookies, finely crumbled

Beat the butter until fluffy. Add the sugar and beat for about 3 minutes. Add the vanilla and “milk” and beat for 5-7 more minutes until light and fluffy. Stir in crumbled cookies.

Spread generously onto the cupcakes and top each with half of a sandwich cookie. Enjoy!

[post comments below]

6 Responses to “OMG – Margarita Cupcakes?!”

  1. Charlene Voigt March 8, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    I love Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World! Have you tried the Pistachio Rosewater cupcakes from the cover? They are sooo good! I have also been using So Delicious coconut milk beverages instead of soymilk in all of my cupcake recipes, and with outstanding results.

  2. Bertram Rounds May 1, 2010 at 6:41 am #

    It is remarkable, the helpful information

  3. Tamie Spears May 1, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Thanks! I'm hoping there are people out there benefitting from my blog!

  4. Griffin Arce June 14, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    I congratulate, what words…, a brilliant idea

  5. Mary July 2, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Hello
    I
    love your information helped me a lot to me and my family.
    I recommend it because my friends are also in doubt thank you very much
    for
    this information.
    Land

    in
    Samara Costa Rica

  6. James July 15, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I
    really
    like this blog, you are very good making them. I say that the issue
    discussed
    in this blog is quite interesting and of high quality. Lots in
    Miramar, Puntarenas Costa Rica

Leave a Reply

