“It’s better than I expected.”

22 Feb

Yep — that was hubby's actual comment after trying the vegan brats that I grilled for dinner. We topped them with kraut, sauteed peppers and onions, and mustard. He thought the texture was very similar to a grilled meat brat and liked the taste. The only negative comment he said was that he missed that "crunch" you hear when you bite into a meat brat (the casing), but other than that, it passed his inspection! 

I, on the other hand, thought it was a tiny bit dry. I'm going to have to experiment with them a little more so I can get them perfect. I don't know if they need more oil in them, if I need to cut down on the steam time, or what. Not sure.

For these, I took Vegan Dad's recipe (see previous post) for vegan Italian sausage and modified all the seasonings, because I couldn't find a vegan brat recipe online. Then I stumbled across one on his blog this morning that's totally different from his Italian sausage one. So, before I post the recipe for these little grillin' treats, I'm going to work on my recipe and also try his recipe to see if it's better. So stay tuned for a brat recipe…I promise it will be posted before the summer cookout season starts!
Below is the picture I took of my dinner tonight. (And people think vegans don't eat anything yummy!) Since I'm not yet ready to post a vegan brat recipe, I'm going to give you this delicious slaw/salad recipe my mom and I sort of invented. We had lunch one day in a tea house and they served a delicious little salad with lunch. Mom and I dissected it and came up with a recipe that's pretty similar. If you want it to be more like a salad, use the Romaine lettuce. If you want it to be more like a slaw, use only cole slaw mix.
TOTAL CRUNCH SALAD
serves 6
1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise
2 tablespoons vinegar
2 tablespoons sugar
10 grape tomatoes, sliced
1/4 cup fresh broccoli, cut into tiny pieces
1/4 cup fresh cauliflower, cut into tiny pieces
2 green onions, sliced
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup chopped pecans, toasted OR roasted unsalted sunflower seeds
1 granny smith apple, diced small
4 cups bagged cole slaw mix OR 
     2 cups bagged cole slaw mix + 2 cups Romaine lettuce, sliced thin
In a small bowl, mix mayonnaise, vinegar and sugar together. Season with salt and pepper.
In a large bowl, put a big spoonful of the dressing. Add the cole slaw/lettuce and toss well. Add the remaining ingredients, drizzle more dressing on top, and toss together. Continue adding dressing and tossing until it's to your liking. I use the whole dressing recipe, but you may like your slaw less-dressed. Refrigerate until serving. Enjoy!
[post comments below]

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to ““It’s better than I expected.””

  1. JL Clark February 22, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    nice plating….the salad sounds interesting.

  2. Nick & Tawny February 22, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    I am totally intrigued! But I just love your little potatoes too!

  3. Jen February 23, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Hello there! FINALLY, I'm able to get on here and teke a look at what you've been up to.

Leave a Reply

