Life is So Delicious.

20 Feb

Just home from an afternoon/evening of “health food” shopping. I stopped into the Phoenix Earth Food Co-op in Toledo to see what vegan goodies I could find. Pretty much the same things as the other health food stores in Toledo. I will definitely go back, though. The people there are very nice and helpful.

Then, I picked the kids up from school and headed straight up to Ann Arbor for some shopping at Whole Foods. I haven’t been there in a couple of years. I had forgotten how overwhelming it is. Everything there is beautiful, fresh and fabulous looking — and you wish you could just buy everything. The kids were amazed and intrigued and excited about picking out some healthy treats to take home. Plus, they had “tasters” all over the store, a child’s dream.

My goal was to put together a list of things I would regularly buy there and try to go maybe every other month for a big trip. It didn’t quite go that way.

I did not buy meat, cheese or produce (except for a pomegranate). I can get all of those things locally and support the businesses here. I also didn’t see anything I absolutely had to have, or the things I was interested in were too expensive. So what did I get? Mostly stuff the kids had to have!

Some yummy Orange/Peach/Mango juice, almond milk (on sale), 2 bags of chips, 2 boxes of NutThins crackers (on sale), some dairy-free ice cream sandwiches, coconut freezer bars (which I assumed were dairy free and they aren’t…you know what they say about assuming!), 2 new flavors of Izze, a pomegranate (kids choice), organic cheesy crackers, a bag of non-dairy cheese (not pictured), and a 4-pack of vegan chipotle “sausage” that was much cheaper than I’ve seen anywhere in Toledo. I also let the kids pick stuff from the bulk bins (not pictured). We came home with yogurt-covered raisins, organic chocolate malt balls, figs, and instant black bean dip. But my favorite of all the items here is the coffee creamer. It’s non-dairy and it’s not soy! It’s made from coconut milk and it is SO DELICIOUS. Yes, they definitely named the product right. I bought the regular flavored one at The Phoenix in Toledo, but Whole Foods had it in French Vanilla, so I bought two of them!

All-in-all a fun trip despite being mostly treats. The bad news is I spent $80 and I don’t think I bought anything I can use for dinner this week, yet I spent most of my weekly food budget. This week’s meals will just have to come from things in the freezer and pantry and I’ll spend the rest of my budget on fruits and vegetables.

For now, I’m off to get kids to bed and collapse in the recliner with a cup of decaf and my latest library books, Moosewood Restaurant: Cooking for Health and Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World.

For more info on So Delicious products, check out:
http://www.turtlemountain.com
http://blog.wholefoodsmarket.com/2009/06/so-delicious-refrigerated-coconut-milks/

3 Responses to “Life is So Delicious.”

  1. PatrickHall41 February 19, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Begin your morning with midnight snack at Jack's Place. It's a tasteful scene when you take notice of Jack's Place restaurant. It sports the most pleasing and exclusive cuisine.

  2. Tamie Spears February 19, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Where is that located?

  3. JennyJohnson February 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    OMG, I love So Delicious coconut milk creamer! The French Vanilla is so amazing, I'm often tempted to drink it straight out of the carton! But I resist, and

Leave a Reply

