Delicious Cauliflower Recipe. No joke.

16 Feb

I'm totally serious. This is not your typical steamed cauliflower recipe (aka, Mush). 

I bought a head of cauliflower the other day because it was on sale so cheap. I make a lot of roasted vegetables (carrots, onions, potatoes, etc) in the oven, so I decided to see what cauliflower would do cooked that way. I sliced the head of cauliflower so the pieces would be similar in thickness and roasted them in the oven. It was delicious. It had a nice toasty brown finish and a very nutty taste. It even passed the "yum" test with Madison and Brady. (Jason said, "it's not bad" — his typical answer to my "do you like it?") Here's the recipe. Give it a try!

ROASTED CAULIFLOWER
fresh cauliflower, sliced about 3/4" thick
olive oil
garlic pepper seasoning
salt substitute
Preheat oven to 400. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Lay the cauliflower slices on the baking sheets and brush both sides, generously, with olive oil. Season with garlic pepper and salt substitute. Roast in oven about 15 minutes. Turn all the pieces over and roast another 10-15 minutes or until lightly browned. Enjoy!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

8 Responses to “Delicious Cauliflower Recipe. No joke.”

  1. ErinGoBragh February 18, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    My cauliflower is in the oven as I write this! No joke! šŸ™‚

  2. Tamie Spears February 18, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Let me know if you liked it!

  3. ErinGoBragh February 19, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I did like it. I like cauliflower but usually eat it raw. This was very good. I did have a hard time cutting it into slices without it crumbling, though.

  4. Tamie Spears February 19, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    My slices crumbled, too, until I got almost to the center of the head. But I just kept slicing and then put all the smaller pieces on my cookie sheet with the big pieces and cooked them the same way. I was really surprised at how tasty it was. I usually eat raw cauliflower dunked in hummus.

  5. Dawn Neisler February 19, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    I am going to try this soon, thanks for the info.

  6. jaklumen February 20, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Carmelization is a beautiful thing. Put this into my Tomboy notes but probably will commit it to memory.

  7. jaklumen February 20, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    p.s. this made [culture is good]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cauliflower and Butternut Squash Soup – Only 150 calories! « Homemaker Chic - July 16, 2012

    […] Full Plate Planet – Delicious cauliflower recipeĀ  […]

Leave a Reply

