The dreaded “E” word.

14 Feb

As you can see by my earlier posts, I'm no longer following Whitaker's Quick Start Hypertension Diet. I followed it religiously for about 2 weeks, getting my sky-high blood pressure down to the 150/100 range. I have a long way to go, but it's at a much safer level than where it was. After 2 weeks of just brown rice, veggies and fruit, I added olive oil back in. After another week, I decided to follow a strict vegan diet, which allowed me to add in nuts, beans and soy products. 

I'm doing really well on the vegan diet. I love it. I haven't swayed once. I do not have a desire to eat meat or dairy. I'm not craving anything. I borrowed about 10 vegan cookbooks from my library and now have a huge selection of recipes to cook from. My family is doing fine with this because they're eating all the yummy veggies and rice dishes that I'm enjoying, plus they're eating grilled free-range organic chicken, lean organic beef, and fish while I substitute meat with either tofu or homemade veggie burgers (tasty recipe below).
Unfortunately, my blood pressure has hung pretty steady in the 150/100 range for the last 2 weeks. So why isn't it dropping with this healthy, plant-based diet and all my vitamins?
One word. 
EXERCISE.
I have to admit that I've not been a good girl when it comes to exercise. I was doing really well in January — walking or doing my Biggest Loser Boot Camp DVD about 5 times a week. But lately it seems my free time has disappeared. And when I get a spare half hour or so, there's always something relaxing that I'd rather be doing. So I need some motivation. SOMEONE SEND ME SOME MOTIVATION! Otherwise, I may have to go back to the Quick Start Diet of rice, vegs and fruit. No thanks. I'm too happy loving new vegan dishes like these burgers.

GRILLED BLACK BEAN BURGERS
makes 6 burgers
1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup breadcrumbs (whole wheat, if you can find them)
1/4 cup minced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried organo
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 cup silken tofu, whisked until smooth
Grill seasoning to taste (I like McCormick's, although it has salt in it)
Optional:
add a dash of vegan Worcestershire sauce if you're going for a traditional burger taste
add minced fresh cilantro and a dash of chili powder for a southwestern taste
Preheat well-oiled grill. Partially mash the beans in a mixing bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients and mix well, using your hands, if necessary. Divide into 6 equal portions. Mold each portion into a well-packed ball and then flatten into burger-size patties. (Ungrilled burgers can be wrapped tightly and frozen for future meals.)
Grill burgers about 5 minutes on each side. 
Sorry there's no picture. I was so excited to eat it when it came off the grill, I totally forgot to get a pic. I ate mine on a 100% whole wheat bun topped with Nayonnaise, ketchup, mustard, lettuce, tomato and onion. It was fabulous. Or try topping one with salsa, guacamole, lettuce, tomato and onion for a southwestern-style burger. Enjoy!
(Post your comments below.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One Response to “The dreaded “E” word.”

  1. Dad February 14, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Just read an article that said if you don't exercise first thing in the morning you just run out of time. Try to get up with hubby and get a workout before the kids get up. Even three days a week helps alot.

Leave a Reply

