Valentine’s Day Cookies!

11 Feb

I've made a lot of shortbread cookies in my life. I absolutely love them — the buttery crunch, the crumbliness. So I decided to make some totally healthy ones from Alicia Silverstone's book, The Kind Diet. She calls these Chocolate-Dipped Shortbread Cookies and they do resemble the texture, but a little crunchier. Although they don't have that buttery taste of a true shortbread cookie (because they don't have butter), they are absolutely delicious! And my kids LOVED them — they dunked them in hot chocolate after coming in from playing in the snow.

They remind me of the taste of the Girl Scout Cafe Cookie that was out a couple of years ago. I modified Alicia's recipe slightly (two small additions). I also just melted chocolate chips and drizzled it on top with the edge of a spoon. Thanks, Alicia, for this great recipe!
CHOCOLATE-DIPPED SHORTBREAD COOKIES
Makes about 1 dozen
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup unbleached white flour
1 cup brown rice flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (my addition)
1/2 cup finely chopped pecans (my addition)
1/2 cup safflower oil (I used canola because that's what I had)
2/3 cup pure maple syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chocolate chips (vegan, if available)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
Combine the flours, baking powder, cinnamon and nuts in a large mixing bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together oil, maple syrup, vanilla and salt. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to form a ball of dough. If the mixture is too crumbly, add water 1 teaspoon at a time until dough just holds together. (Note: The dough doesn't hold together like traditional sugar cookie dough, so just pack it tightly and it will hold.) 
Gently roll the dough to 1/2" thickness. Use a heart-shaped cookie cutter to cut into shapes. Carefully lift and place cookies on baking sheets and bake for 15 minutes or until lightly browned. Transfer to a cooling rack. 
Melt chocolate chips in the microwave. Lay cookies on wax paper. Dip edge of spoon in chocolate and "whip" back and forth over cookies to form drizzles. Allow to cool and harden.
Delicious dunked in a decaf soy latte. Enjoy!
Oh, and speaking of Girl Scout cookies…I have 37 cases coming to my house on Saturday. They have to be sorted and delivered to all the wonderful people that supported the Girl Scouts this year. The bad news is that I think I ordered about a dozen boxes for my house (before I went vegan to lower my blood pressure). Now I have to be strong and steer clear of them!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day Cookies!”

  1. ErinGoBragh February 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    How do you like The Kind Diet? I saw a snippet of Alicia Silverstone on Oprah talking about it and it seemed pretty common-sense in a refreshing way. I did like that she said it is not necessarily a guide book for someone trying to become a vegan, and am curious about what exactly it is.

    Worth checking out?

  2. Tamie Spears February 11, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    I actually borrowed the book from my library. I'm eating vegan right now in hopes of getting my BP under control and I know she's a vegan so I was curious. It's definitely worth reading. About one-third of the book talks about why we shouldn't eat animal products, with a lot of interesting facts. But she isn't pushy and doesn't talk down to meat-eaters. She even mentions several times that just cutting back on the meat you eat and buying your meat from an animal-friendly farm is a huge step toward saving the planet. Then about one-third of the book talks about why we should be eating a plant-based diet and what types of food you should eat. It's very interesting. The last part of the book is recipes. I found quite a few that I would make. Some of them use some pretty weird ingredients that I'm sure I can't get here in town. But I may try to make a trip to the Whole Foods in Ann Arbor, Michigan once a month. I'm feeling really good right now about the way I'm eating.

Leave a Reply

