Sniff. Cough. Blah.

5 Feb

Yep – woke up yesterday with a cold. Runny nose, cough, major sinus headache. Blah. 

And how is it possible to get sick when you take every vitamin under the sun and eat nothing but rice, fruit and vegetables? I don't get it. Maybe my body is detoxing or something.
So, nothing tasted good on my very blah diet yesterday except for one little treat I made last night. I diced an avocado, some grape tomatoes, fresh cilantro and onions. Sprinkled on cumin, NuSalt and pepper. Squeezed on fresh lime juice and tossed it all together. It was a delectable little salad, if I must say so myself! So satisfying, in fact, that I made myself another one today for lunch! 
I also had some spaghetti squash for lunch. If you haven't tried spaghetti squash, you should. It's about the easiest thing to make and can be used in a lot of ways. You just cut it in half and scoop out the seeds and stuff in the middle. Then place it cut side down in a baking dish with about an inch of water. Put it in a 350-degree oven for about 45 minutes or so. When it cools enough to handle, scoop out all the squash, right to the skin. It pulls apart into pieces that look like cooked spaghetti noodles! They're very buttery in taste. 
Last week I tossed mine with a homemade marinara sauce. Today I just tossed them with a teaspoon of olive oil and topped it with NuSalt, freshly-ground black pepper and chopped parsley. I think they'd be great topped with sauteed mushrooms and onions. If you want an all-out dinner recipe, try Spaghetti Squash & Pork Stir Fry on the Eating Well website or Spaghetti Squash with Chicken, Mushrooms and Spinach on the Cooking Light website. Yum!
Unfortunately, I haven't had the energy to whip up anything from The Kind Diet book. I started reading it Wednesday and I'm only about 30 pages into it, so I haven't reached the recipes yet. It's a very interesting read, and very enlightening. I'm really considering a vegan diet for health reasons, but she goes into detail on other reasons you should avoid meat, such as animal cruelty and the fact that raising animals strictly for human consumption is extremely hard on the earth and our natural resources. For example, according to the Cattlemen's Association, it takes 441 gallons of water to produce just one pound of beef. By comparison, it takes just 33 gallons of water to produce a pound of carrots. Oh, and about 50% of the corn grown in the U.S. is eaten by animals — only about 8% is grown for human consumption. Interesting, huh?
Anyway, I'm sure I'll have lots of other tidbits from her book to share. Don't think I'm pushing veganism. Just sharing some of the info that really hits home with me. As for whether or not I'll switch permanently to a vegan diet, only time will tell.
I'm off to get some rest so this cold will go away.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One Response to “Sniff. Cough. Blah.”

  1. Tamie Spears February 5, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    BP = 145/105

Leave a Reply

