The Kind Diet.

3 Feb

Have you heard of this book? I requested it from my library and it came in today so I'm anxious to start reading it. The book is a guide to eating a plant-based diet to help not only yourself, but the planet we live on. It's a New York Times Bestseller. And it's written by Alicia Silverstone — the actress from the movie "Clueless," who is now about 33 years old and a huge advocate for the planet and its animals. I guess she's been vegan for the last 10 years or so and has never felt better.

I'm intrigued by the vegan lifestyle. I feel pretty confident that this is the way our bodies were intended to be refueled. I'm just not sure I can do it. I've never been a huge consumer of meat or cheese, but I do enjoy the occasional egg, seafood, grilled chicken or organic beef burger. Now that I've been eating only whole grain brown rice and fruits and vegetables for the last 2 weeks, I'm starting to think I could actually live without meat…well, 99% of the time, anyway! I guess I'll see what she has for recipes. I'm skeptical about the cost of eating vegan (have you seen the price of "health food" items at Kroger and Claudia's?!), so I hope her recipes are made with fresh ingredients that don't cost an arm and a leg to buy.
Speaking of health food…I don't have an exciting new recipe or photo to share. Today's meals were quite uneventful. Downright boring, actually. Brown rice with bananas and cinnamon for breakfast, veg soup for lunch and veg stir fry over rice for dinner.
But I'll be reading Alicia's book tonight so maybe tomorrow's meals will be something exciting from her book! 
Oh, by the way, did anyone else see this food fad story? Yikes, is all I have to say!
Post your comments below!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses to “The Kind Diet.”

  1. Nick & Tawny February 4, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    You should check out thekindlife.com. I signed up, but to be honest, I don't think I am able to give up meat….but you are right, the vegan lifestyle is intriguing……

  2. Tamie Spears February 4, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I actually signed up yesterday! I didn't have much time to look around the site, but it looks interesting. Right now I'm reading the February issue of VegNews magazine, which I've never read before. I've been looking at going vegan for health reasons, but this magazine really pushes the facts on how bad the meat and dairy industries are – not only to the animals, but also on the environment. Scary.

  3. Heike February 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    Community Supported Agriculture is a great way to be eating seasonal (often organic) veggies and fruit. Its not a year-around solution, but often cheaper than the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

