Heaven.

3 Feb
So my family thinks I'm crazy, now that I'm photographing my meals. But tonight's creation was delicious and I wanted to share. Sliced zucchini, grilled in the George Foreman (too dang cold outside!) then topped with a Greek style sauce that I invented today with silken tofu, fresh lemon juice, oregano, fresh dill, minced onion, minced garlic and cracked black pepper. I know what you're thinking… "ewww, tofu". Trust me, it was pure heaven! Tofu is not technically part of the Quick Start, since soybeans are a legume, not a vegetable. But, at 3 weeks into this, I'm counting it as okay since he allows it on his regular BP diet. I also made Wild Mushroom and Rice Soup (recipe below), which is 100% Quick Start approved. 
BP today still hovering where it has been — 148/110 — but I did squeeze in a 1-mile walk this morning. I'm off to watch Biggest Loser. Yeah, I know, but it keeps me motivated.
Wild Mushroom and Rice Soup
makes 6 cups
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/2 cup chopped green or red pepper
1 teaspoon minced garlic (about 2 cloves
1 cup sliced mushrooms, any variety or mixture
1 carrot, shredded
1/2 cup uncooked wild rice (I used brown rice since I'm still on the Quick Start)
4 cups homemade vegetable broth (check allrecipes.com for a recipe, substitute NuSalt for any salt)
NuSalt and pepper to taste
In a large stockpot over medium heat, saute onion, celery, green or red pepper and garlic for about 5 minutes. Stir often to prevent sticking. Add the mushrooms and carrots and cook another 2-3 minutes. Stir in the rice and broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until rice is tender, about 45 minutes. Season with NuSalt and pepper. Serve hot. Enjoy!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

